[Editorial] Unboxing NES Mini Classic!!!


Hi guys,

Do you remember the mysterious package arrived a couple of days ago from Game Stop?

That ugly package like a seashell contained the most beautiful pearl in the world, the NES Classic Mini!

nes-and-nes-mini

Finally, finally, FINALLY I got my copy of this long wanted piece of history. Since it’s difficult for me to find the original cartridges for NES at a reasonable price, since most of the biggest shops or sellers live outside Italy (UK but mostly North America) and the shipping cost are absolutely ridiculous, this was the best way to play the best old game for NES.

As I unboxed the NES Mini my hands started to shiver and sweat and I gently plugged into the TV with the HDMI and the USB cables bundled with the console. As I pushed the START button:

Yessssss, all the 30 games included were there, with their bright cover, ready to be played. I gave a brief look of all of them (at list at the titles) and I tried, just to check the working status of the console, Super Mario Bros., on of may favourite games of all time. Watching the 8-bit graphics on a modern 40 inches TV it’s simply unbelievable.

nes-mini-2

Moreover, beign the constroller cable very short (an issue already noted by all the owners) you’re forced to stay at something like 1 meter from the TV screen. A sensation that reminded the days when I was sitting on my bed in front of my small green TV (I still own and use in my bedroom today 🙂 )

I would love to talk about this for soooooo long but sorry, now I’m busy to play 🙂 🙂 🙂

See you soon!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

32 Comments Add yours

  1. How much is NES Mini in Italy? Nintendo are now selling it for £100 in UK…

    Also, I found buying games from Italy really good. You’re PAL (A or B, can’t remember) works here, and on the whole DEVs were lazy and didn’t localise the language. I have got loads of NES bargains from Italy as a result. I got Bucky O’Hare for less than £20, which was AMAZING.

    I also think Italy had better taste in games in the 80s as the “rare” UK RPGs aren’t stupidly priced in Italy. (When I have looked.

    Mostly from a couple of eBay sellers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Wow, actually my perspective was completely wrong! I found so many times on eBay cheaper prices for loose cartridges and games (ans sometimes even for the consoles) especially when sold in huge lots from english and american sellers. At this point you have to guide me throught the right price listing for the games because I suck. Anyway I bought NES Mini at Game Stop (online) for 59,98€ and as I know is region-unlocked. If the shipping cost to UK is not high I can ship one to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll look into shipping then. At up to £70 i can warrant the spend, as the individual games I’m after cost nearly that much. I want Kirby, FF1 and Excite Bike. The rest are a bonus. Plus, the TV connector means i can play on the big telly in the lounge and not hide in my attack all day on the CRT.

        I tend to buy loose carts unless it is a “special” game to me. Things like link to the Past on SNES. Nothing on NES that was special to me, so not bothered about boxes.

        I’ve never played a Metroid or Castlevania game either. So i want a NES mini!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        I checked online the shipping costs and one NES + delivery in the U.K. will be around 75£…

        Like

  2. pine717 says:

    Congratulations! I really really want one, but they’re constantly sold out. Even now with the Christmas shopping season over, they’re impossible to find.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      If you want I can ship one! 🙂

      Like

  3. hungrygoriya says:

    I hope you enjoy this so, so much! I will try to find one whenever they get back on the shelves or start showing up in thrift stores. I can dream, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Sure! Wait patiently and you’ll find one! 😀

      Like

  4. I’m sitting here looking at one right now 😀 An awesome friend gifted it to me so I could surprise my husband. I haven’t played myself yet, which I find funny since I’m more of the retro gamer than him hehe. Enjoy your time in the golden age of gaming!

    Like

    1. benez256 says:

      Wow this is a great gift! I just finished a Baloon Fight marathon. I played for hours and hours…I’m a 6 years old boy again 😄😄😄

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mr. Panda says:

    So excited for you! I unfortunately missed out on the initial shipment, and subsequent shipments too. They apparently had it in a local store the other day, and I missed that. Oh well. But I hope you enjoy that lovely console!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Suuuure! I play it everyday! I know outside Italy is difficult to find. A lot of scalpers out there…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mr. Panda says:

        Yea the scalpers really upset me… They were there during the amiibo craze too…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.