[RetroPicks] An orange touch: Game Boy Advance!


Hello guys!

You may think from my blog that, being an old games and old consoles lover, I own (or I owned) a huge collection. Unfortunately I haven’t been so lucky, but I fuelled my passion playing a lot of games on a lot of different consoles mainly with friends. This make me always willing to look after good deals online, and lately I found a two Game Boy Advance in rather good conditions so I seized the moment and killed two bird with one stone. For the sum of 30$ I got these two GBA, one orange and one white along with 4 games.

 

gba-white
The white…
gba-orange
…and the orange

The price was small becuase they both have a problem in the battery cover but I saw online that a replacement cap will cost 5$ to 10$ so I thought the deal was worth the trouble.

I’ve always loved the shape of the GBA, mainly becaused it remind me the shape of the Nokia N-Gage, the mobile I’ve always wanted but never got (and in retrospect this was a good thing since it was a commercial flop) and I still think it has a fresh and interesting shape.

The games included in the offer were Madagascar, Shrek the Third, Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix, and the one that tingled me the most, The Need for Speed Porsche Unleashed, since this is a franchise I love and I’ve played from the very beginning, from the original The Need for Speed back in 1994.

gba-games

Beside the external beauty, the GBA has one serious issue: the screen is not backlit so it’s almost impossible to play in most of the usual conitions. This is not a problem of my two items but unfortunately it’s a main pain in the ass neck of all the GBAs (luckily the problem was fixed on the later GBAs).

After writing this post I realized that all of the consoles and handhelds I have are Nintendo branded. Ok, I knew I was a Nintendo boy, but I’m slightly turning in a mono-brand man!

So now my evergrowing little stupid collection includes a NES, a Mini NES, an N64, a Game & Watch, a 2DS, a 3DS and a PS2, the only Sony in an ocean of Nintendo…

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Mr. Panda says:

    I like that orange Game Boy Advance! I like the system in theory, but it’s just not playable without a backlight. That’s why I love the GBA SP and every subsequent handheld. No worries about having mostly Nintendo systems! There was a point where the only non-Nintendo system I had was a PS2, and that was when the PS3 was already out! Nintendo makes my favorite games and the systems to play them on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, it’s very annoying to play with the GBA because you need the perfect light in order to do it. SP fixed the problem but I’m very attached to the GBA shape. Reminds me of the old times…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mr. Panda says:

        It was very rare for me to play in the perfect light, even on a nice day. I ended up getting a Nyko Worm Light, because it worked so well for the Game Boy Color. Ugh, it was so bad on GBA… I actually liked the clamshell design on the SP. That’s probably why I still like the DS/3DS design today.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        For me it was the opposite. I’ve nevere relly liked the SP design but I immediately loved the DS. Maybe because it reminds me some of the Game & Watch games. I love them!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just imagined a lonely Sony floating in a Nintendo sea :p

    Congrats on your finds! That does seem like a pretty decent deal even with the batter case issues especially considering you seem to have found an inexpensive fix.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes I found the original Nintendo one at a decent price. There are also compatible ones at 2-3$ but I want the original!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome deal you got there! I love my GBA, though it not being backlit is a serious problem. I bought a light that attaches to it and that really helps. Enjoy your new systems! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      In fact I think I’m gonna buy it…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s good! I really think it’ll make a huge difference and make your games much easier to see!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

