[Shut up and take my money!] Time for the SNES Mini


Hello guys,

It’s the news of (yester)day, now OFFICIALLY Nintendo confirmed there will be a sequel of its “classic” collection and on September 29th will be released, perhaps in limited edition, the SNES Mini, “son” of the NES Mini released last year. At the moment is still not possible to pre-order it online but I guess in the next weeks on the main websites, starting from Amazon will be possible to option another piece made by Nintendo just to make us drool like a snail.

It will feature 21 games, although this time it looks like Nintendo didn’t push so hard on the classics: there are some but I think all of us would have expected something different. anyway this chit-chat will be surely swept away when we’ll have in our hand the next Nintendo gem.

A bit of disappointment about the total number of games: only 21. A bit poor range of titles. However the games included will be:

  1. Contra III The Alien Wars
  2. Donkey Kong Country
  3. EarthBound
  4. Final Fantasy III (Final Fantasy VI in Giappone)
  5. F-Zero
  6. Kirby Super Star
  7. Kirby’s Dream Course
  8. The Legend of Zelda A Link to the Past
  9. Mega Man X
  10. Secret of Mana
  11. Star Fox
  12. Star Fox 2
  13. Street Fighter II Turbo Hyper Fighting
  14. Super Castlevania IV
  15. Super Ghouls ’n Ghosts
  16. Super Mario Kart
  17. Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  18. Super Mario World
  19. Super Metroid
  20. Super Punch-Out!
  21. Yoshi’s Island

There are some games ALL of us thought there were: Super Mario World, Super Metroid, Star Fox, Super Mario Kart and Super Ghouls and Ghosts. I’ve also guessed Earhbound (and this is good because I have to sell a kidney to buy the original copy of it), Final Fantasy VI and Street Fighter but not in its further declination “Hyper Fighting”. I missed only super R-Type and Breath of Fire, so 8 out of 10, not bad!

So, now we only have to wait three months, and for god sake they will pass quickly. Sea, sand and sun always help to make the time run quickly…

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I tried to pre order one last night but the site kept crashing. Logged in this morning to find that they were sold out. I’m expecting a similar situation to the NES Mini.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      That’s my fear. And the scalpers are already at work. Yesterday on ebay one put on sale the snes mini at 220€…

      Liked by 2 people

    2. You can already preorder? Damn…missed that memo.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. hungrygoriya says:

    I hope you can find one! The line-up looks amazing, and I really appreciate Nintendo making Earthbound more accessible for people in an official medium so that people’s kidneys can stay intact. I’m not holding my breath to find one here, but if I do, it’ll be a fun thing to have kicking around.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      Since I’m a newcomer in the collecting world this is the best way for me to play the classics in a way that is almost identical than play it on the original console…then one day I’ll get even the original SNES cartridges…😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hungrygoriya says:

        For sure. I can remember dreaming of having something like these tiny consoles in my youth just to be able to play the games without having to emulate and play with a keyboard.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        That’s the point! oh, P.S. I think I will put my hands soon onto a region free NES. I’ve seen a juicy auction in which it’s included. If you’re interested I can ship it to the Maple Leaf Country…;)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. hungrygoriya says:

        Ooooo! I will have a chat with my boyfriend and see if he’s willing to try a lockout chip mod on one of the ones we have. I will keep you posted :D!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not making the same mistake as I did with the SNES mini. I’m preordering it as soon as I can!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I don’t know if in the US GameStop already take pre-orders…try to check it out. BTW the SNES mini will be more expesive than the NES Mini. Here it’s sold at 79€, while the NES Mini was 59€…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They’re not yet, BUT Amazon and Best Buy are letting you sign up for notifications, and I just started following someone on Twitter who is purported to be the prime source of information. I’m in stealth mode 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        This is one of the few times in which being italian is easier and better…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Europe seems to be getting the better deal with these hmph :p

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        Sometimes…😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

