[Review] Warcraft II – Tides of Darkness


warcraft-ii-tides-of-darkness-cover

REVIEW # 00000000 00100111

The battle for Azeroth continues over land sea and air

Ah, Warcraft 2. When Warcraft was still an Age of Empires-like game, where you had to build, manage, make war, defend. It will sound a blasphemy for most of you hearing it, but I’ve always hated the moment when Warcraft became World of Warcraft. For me it will always be the old game with orcs vs. humans.

My heart says…

100%

W2 is one of the games that will always be in my heart, being a kind of game I always loved, the strategic one (even if they’re far from the spirit of Warcfaft I played tons of hours on Age of Empires and even more Cossacks). Even if I sucked a bit in the battles I was (and I’m still) a great biulder and an excellent city manager (this is why I’m a pro in the SimCity franchise). I still play W2 so my grade cannot be less than 10!

Splash screen

80%

warcraft-ii-tides-of-darkness-splash

The opening screen recalls the one we saw in the first chapter and the one we see on the CD cover so it’s nothing new. However is more polish than the predecessor and it’s a good intro, even for the music that plays in the background. W2 also features an introduction movie very catchy!

Graphics

90%

I might be a bit (a lot) biased but the graphics of the first half of 90’s are my favourites so I love these pixellous but detailed visuals and seeing all these shreks-like orcs chopping trees…

warcraft-ii-tides-of-darkness-2

Narrative

80%

This grade il more related to the worldwide success of the franchise. Being this one of the earliest chapters, is one of the responsibles of the birth and spread of the Warcfraft universe centered in Azeroth. So thumbs up!

Gameplay

90%

warcraft-ii-tides-of-darkness-1

Here comes the great part of the review. Learning how to play W2 it’s very easy but the difficult is to play it at best. Basically you have to build a city, expand it, fortify it, train peasants and warriors and fight with the other opponents.

The choice is between orcs and humans, or better a human-like coalition of actual humans, elves, gnomes and dwarves and a monster-like coalition, dominated by orcs along with trolls, ogres and goblins.

Every coalition has 7 different units like peasants, warriors and magesand a lot on incredibly WONDERFUL buildings to place on the map. I remember evrrytime I had the possibility to upgrade a unit or a building my eyes were heart-shaped since I loved to push all those little icons to power up my kingdom.

There was always a limit to my thirst of expansion: resources. There are three of them to look for: gold, wood and oil. Call me stupid (and in fact I was…) but to understand where to find oil I spent I think half an year or even more: I didn’t think about the sea, even because in every game like Warcraft (but also in other styrategy games as for example Europa Universalis) I’ve always lacked the nautical department (to be honest I SUCK so bad). Once I remember I was so frustrated I threw my suicide demolition squad agaisnt the rocks hoping to find oil in them. Yes, it was one of the dumberst things ever made by a human being.

There are two game modes: Campaign and Scenario which is the one I liked the most. Actually I don’t thing I’ve ever cleared a Campaign. I dopn’t like when I have to run a “city” already built and for this reason I’ve always preferred the Sceario since I had the possibility to start my own kingdom (it was the same even in SimCity 2000 even though lately I played all the pre-installed cities and brought them to the top).

Sound

80%

The best feature regarding the sounds is the way the characters talks to the player when selected. The comic style of the speeches it’s a great way to loosen the tension the game may cause sometime, especially when you are in the eve of a battle.

Longevity

90%

This game is extremely longeve, even because the random map gives the player a virtually infinite number of scenarios to play. In comparison with later games with more units, more buildings, more skills to improve and upgrade this one is still very enjoyable nowadays. And this is the reason why now, just after finishing this review I will go to my room and install it again…;)

Final score 91/100

90%


Year: 1995

Developer: Blizzard Entertraiment

Publisher: Blizzard Entertraiment

Genre: Strategy, Real-Time Strategy

Game Mode: Single Player, Multiplayer

Original Platform: Windows, Mac

From same developers/publishers:

  • The Lost Vikings (1992) and sequels
  • Diablo (1996) and sequels
  • Starcraft (1998) and sequels

Inspired to:

  • Dune II (1992)

If you liked it you can also try:

  • Cossacks: European Wars (2001)

Other chapters of the saga:

  • Warcraft: Orcs & Humans (1994)
  • Warcraft II: Tides of Darkness (1995)
  • Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos (2002)
  • World of Warcraft (2004)

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I LOVED this game and played it to death. I remember my dad won about £50 on the lottery and bought this for my sister and I and it was played constantly for weeks. Months even. So nice to see it on here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I can understand. I was a big fan of it too and I played until my CD was scratched and almost useless…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. allendemir says:

    I remember my dad had an old demo of one of these games on PC. Never played the full version, but I played the hell out of that disc.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I have great memories too of all the games I had in my youth only as a demo version. I played them so long it seemed I thought that going on playing them I should have been able to unlock them and play the whole game…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mr. Panda says:

    A classic! I’ve never played Warcraft II, but it’s interesting to see where the world came from. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve never played World of Warcraft instead so for me Warcraft will always be the first 2-3 chapters of the saga. How many hours spent on them…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Matt says:

    I have never played this one, but your review made me wish I had.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Uh, wow, thanks! You have still time to try it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. enpera says:

    I also love this game, thank you for the review!
    Only one contra, the stupid AI… when cut all trees and mine all gold, his peasants just standing forever.
    But, one of the best strategy!
    I played many years. And its first part was my first strategy game on PC.
    I wish it could be run on my ipad 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      My peasants sometimes stand still, sometimes start to do something else. Like chopping the closest trees once the mine is destroyed…

      Like

      1. enpera says:

        Then its a feature, not bug 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

