[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 05/03/17


Hello guys!

During these last weeks I decided to put on hold for a moment my gamin sessions because I’m more interested in reading and browsing the whole internet to look for good deals on retro consoles and games. I even noticed that, apart from the big console world, there are very good offers even for the even bigger vintage computer world. It’s like 2-3 weeks that I’m spending countless hourd on eBay, second hand online shops and similira to find something good for my collection. At the moment I made a few offers: two for two SEGA consoles, the Master System II and the Mega Drive II (Sega Genesis for my american readers). About the MDII I fount an interesting lot that includes the console with all the original leads and cables and a few games. I think hungrygoriya could be a bit jealous of it since in the lot there’s Michael Jackson Moonwalker I know she’s trying to get at a reasonable price. Unfortunately in the auction I’m following the game is in its PAL version so even if I would gift it to her I think it would be worthless 😦

I’ve also found so many vintage computers at ridiculous prices (less than 50€ and COMPLETE) that I started to look for a new house carefully since this summer I have to move anyway into a new one. So better to find a good one maybe with an extra room for all the stuff I would like to buy! 🙂

I’m still looking for a good ZX Spectrum and in the last days I also started looking for a C64, no matter what version (unless some of you have some good suggestions or tips about it) since it’s cheap and has a big and inexpensive games library.

Here’s what happened:

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status: 12% completed, on hold
  • Castlevania
    Begun: January 24th, 2017
    Status: 66% completed, on hold

BOOKS

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. hungrygoriya says:

    Ah yes, the sweet addicting habit of retro gaming hunting… I can relate 😉 I’m so glad that you’re finding some good deals, and I truly hope you can win some of those auctions you’re bidding on. I’d only be a little jealous of you if you received Moonwalker in the mail. It’s an excellent game and deserves to be played by excellent people like yourself! Mine will come along… someday 🙂 As far as I understand, the shape and number of board contacts of the actual Genesis/Megadrive carts are different, so they can’t easily be played across regions. There’s probably a converter out there somewhere!

    I hope you can track down a C64! I grew up with a Commodore Vic 20 which was similar and I have very fond memories of it. A friend recently told me he wanted to give me his C64 and all his games, but he hasn’t followed up and I don’t want to press him in case he changed his mind. Hopefully he brings it up again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Just today I saw an almost brand new Moonwalker for Mega Drive at 25€. It’s a shame the Genesis version it’s inpossible to find at less than 60$…however this morning after coming back home to visit my parents I went to the place where I made my voloynteering on the ambulace and in one of the rooms in the basement there were litelally dozens of old computer such as Amiga, Apple II and some C64. I think one of these weekend I have to come down here with my car and a lot of boxes because there’s a treasure down there!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hungrygoriya says:

        :O! That sounds amazing!!!! I hope you can find space for all of it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        I hope so! Especially now that i’ve decided to go to the London Gaming Market in April! I think I will buy a lot of stuff there…😀😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. hungrygoriya says:

        I’m so glad 🙂 My first big game swap was two years or so ago, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I’m looking forward to hearing about your experience!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        I’ve seen some pictures from past years markets and there were ridiculous prices, very cheap! I think I would need an extra suitcase…

        Liked by 2 people

      5. hungrygoriya says:

        You should plan ahead for extra luggage just in case!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been to a couple of events similar to the London market you mentioned in the comments and found some cool stuff at reasonable prices, so hope that goes well for you! Also good luck finding a ZX Spectrum. My local charity shop had one a few months ago in really good nick, they sold it on eBay I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      If only I kew it…btw yes, I0ve seen interesting consoles and games so I hope I’ll be back in italy with a bag full of goods 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome. Be advised that if it’s in central London, the event will no doubt be extremely busy. First event like this I went to we queued for 40 mins to get in, only to get totally crushed inside… things improved later in the day when we returned.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        Thanks for the tip. Will you be there this year?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.