[Games to Read] The Ultimate History of Video Games


the-ultimate-history-of-video-games

For the extemporaneus column “Games to Play Read”, here’s a book I bought this week, The Ultimate History of Video Games, by Stene L. Kent.

I read a lot of very good reviews online and I thought it was a good idea to improve my knowledge of good old games and consoles. You’ll never know too much of the “dark ages” of video gaming (say 60’s and 70’s) even because a lot of projects have been abaondoned or havn’t got a good distribution due to an horrible marketing and lack of funds

This could be a great base to improve my RetroConsole column, since I have in my mind a lot of good stuff to post.

At least Cacchino seems to like it…

See you soon!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

37 Comments Add yours

  1. Cheyenne says:

    I have this book as well. I learned quite a bit, especially about pinball games, which is one of my favorite topics.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve just given a quick view and it seems very very interesting. I think I will literally devour it in the next days! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve thought about picking that up! Would love to hear your take on it when you read it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I hope it won’t take me too long since it’s quite big and meanwhile I’m playing 3 games at the same time and watching movies for my other blog. Sometimes I wish I could have 36-hours long days. Maybe I could move to Mercury where a day lasts more than 100 earth days…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg I know…I’m reading four books, playing three(?) games, editing a story, writing a review, and just trying to keep up with my daily and weekly posts along with working the job that finances all of this. Meanwhile I neglect my husband and housework :p

        I wound up putting the book on my TBR list though. It will count as my “reference” read once I finish the current one in that category 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        Hahahahaha it’s the same for me! 8 hours working 8 hours sleeping and only 8 hours to wash, clean eat, play, read, write, houseworks, girlfriend, pets and go out. Oh…poop too 😅😅😅

        Liked by 1 person

      3. There’s never enough time to poop! LOL oh man, bathroom humor will never grow old :p There’s also me cleaning up after the cats.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        Or me cleaning up after the dogs…

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That’s me and the cats. You think they take care of themselves. They do, but they still make a mess, little monsters…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. cary says:

    I have the book as well, and it’s a great read! (And it goes by quickly; nothing sloggy about it.) The early chapters are especially insightful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I just read part of the first chapter just to get in touch with the book. I see it starts even before the very beginning! I think it will be a good read…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Not heard of that one. I recently read Stuart Ashen’s Terrible old games you e probably never heard of though which was great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ll tell you, this is another book I laid my eyes onto. I was uncertain until the last gasp but then I took this one. But for sure Terrible old games will be one of the next books I will buy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I may well pick up this one once I’m through my current set of books!

        Like

Leave a Reply

