[52 Weeks Challenge] Week 10 – Your game system of choice


Hello everybody,

Tired of the 30 days game challenge? Enjoy my own personal revisitation of a classic challenge! Instead of 30 daily posts that fill an entire month, this challenge is more diluted in time and it will cover all the year 2018. 52 weeks, 52 questions to understand who’s the person behind this blog. Me!

Week 10 – Your game system of choice

That’s a very easy question for me.

…but even easy questions can have tricky answers. If we’re referring to gaming consoles the answer is definitely the NES. That was the first console I’ve ever owned when it was donated to me from my parents for Chrsitmas in 1991. This means that thie beautiful piece of hardware is more than 26 years old and still works perfectly 🙂

However, as I’ve already said in the past, my gaming experience is divided in two: from 1991 until 1994 I’ve been a NES aficionado and the only games I had were for the NES. Then in 1994 I got my first PC and from that moment I started to look at the consoles as something more for children than for young boys so I started to play only PC games. I love PCs and even back then I used to stay with my hands on the keybord to do everything: writing, drawing, studying, you name it. Then when I started the university in 2004 I totally  abandoned video games: I didn’t have any more free time, except during the evenings when I used to play with my roomates with PS1 and then PS2, but only soccer games: it was our way to have fun so I’ve played for like 5 years all the versions of PES and, occasionally, Gran Turismo 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Then we come to these last years when I retrieved my old NES from the basement and I started collecting games for home consoles, an hobby that led me to buy at least the major ones (SNES, Master System, Mega Drive, N64) and two home computers, the ZX Spectrum and a C64C. But I’ve never abandoned PC games and I can’t rule out the possibility to recreate a small collection of the hits of my youth…and maybe some old DOS game, when I will manage to find an old PC…

So in the end I can say that my game system of choice is the NES but the PC is only just one inch behind it.

What was the system you’ve spent more time with?

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. rakanalysis says:

    PC by a long way in terms of game systems as a whole. Probably my GameCube or PS2 when it comes to consoles I’ve spent the most time on, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kmerrill8276 says:

    NES, easily. It has most of my all-time favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My favourite console is the Nintendo 64. While I have enjoyed games on other consoles, I feel that the games I have played on the Nintendo 64 have been more consistently good. These games also feature prominently when I remember the games I enjoyed during childhood, when I replayed games like Super Mario 64, Goemon 1 and 2, Lylat Wars, Goldeneye, Perfect Dark, Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask and even Donkey Kong 64. The graphics used in many of the games seemed to be at a level where, while later consoles have better graphical capabilities, it is always possible to tell what the designs are supposed to be and seemed to be designed with a style, rather than limited by the system. It was also one of the last consoles to use robust cartridges, rather than fragile CDs that can be easily damaged.
    Why do you prefer PCs to consoles? I would have thought using a mouse and keyboard were more annoying to use than specially designed controllers. What consoles are you starting to appreciate?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pick3dlast says:

    For me as a VG collector, PC wasn’t even an option.

    Of the early Nintendo consoles, I think my favorite is the SNES.

    But all-time favorite would have to be PS2.

    https://nolongerpick3dlast.wordpress.com/2018/03/11/week-10-whats-your-favorite-console/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.