[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 23/07/17


Hello guys,

Another week spent looking for good games and waiting for something I’ve bought on eBay. Since I want to repair a console I’ve bought (and I don’t want to spoil which one is until is fixed 🙂 ) I’ve ordered one of those screwdrivers made just for the strange screws you can find on the gaming consoles and a soldering iron. I hope I’ll receive them next week, so next weekend I’ll have all the time to prove myself in this brand new hobby 🙂

The delivery times are very long but considering that I’ve paid everything less than a Coke and an ice cream it’s worth the wait.

A few days ago I’ve received my brand new issue of Retro Gamer and, even though the cover story is about Virtua Fighter, a game I’m not particularly fond of, there are some interesting pieces about Double Dragon and the Super Game Boy.

Today I’ll be to my parents house and I’m gonna visit an old family friend that is supposed to have very old computers in a container he has in the garden. I already know they will be wrecked, dirty and not working but who knows, maybe I could find anyway something interesting. I know there’s a thriving market for old computers, even though they’re in horrible conditions so in case I don’t know what to do with them I can always send them to somebody who knows how to fix them. I used to work with this family friend years ago because he’s kind of a “chief” of the Public Assistance, a sort of Red Cross organization made by volounteers. I’ve spent some years there back then, I worked on the ambulances as a rescuer and I’ll be glad if I could help them with a donation, since they work almost only with donations made by citizens. In case I’d have to sell the PCs a huge slice of the grossing will go to them.

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status: 12% completed, on hold
  • Castlevania
    Begun
    : January 24th, 2017
    Status: 66% completed, on hold
  • Michael Jackson’s Moonwalker
    Begun: April 25th, 2017
    Status: 33% completed
  • Super C
    Begun: June 23rd, 2017
    Status: 57% completed

BOOKS

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Have fun with your soldering iron! I took a soldering class in my electronics course in college. I sucked at first, but practice makes perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I watched online thousands of videos and it looks like an (almost) easy job. Unfortunately I don’t have anything to test my poor skills so my first try will be an “official” one and I cannot fail. Maybe it will be better like this, so I’ll be more careful…😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s pretty easy as long as you’re patient and take it nice and slow. If you really want to practice, break open an old VCR or some other old broken junk and try making some connections even if they don’t actually do anything.

        Now…is it an original Nintendo DS?!? http://i.imgur.com/32cAf6A.jpg

        Like

      2. benez256 says:

        Nintendo was way ahead of its time back then…the Game&Watch anticipated the DS of 20 years…

        Like

Leave a Reply

