[Happy Birthday!] Joust


Hello old games lovers,

Sometimes I happen to be a bit late on the celebration and this is the case. A few days ago, precisely on July 16th, it was the 25th anniversary of a huge arcade success, later ported on console, Joust, released in 1982. This game, source of inspiration for another success, NES’ Balloon Fight,  and even for a pinball game, was a kind of “strange” game, because it wasn’t set in the space as some of the arcade games back then (we all remember the Space craze of the 80s with games like Spacer Invaders, Galaga and Gradius, just to cite the most important), but in a kind of fantastic pseudo-medieval one (or at least this is what I’ve always thought, since jousting for me is a distinctive trait of the Middle Ages).

However, have you played it? Could it be one of the stars in the new Ataribox?

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I’d be surprised if it wasn’t included. I always thought it was one of the essential Atari titles.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Man, you’re making me want to play Atari again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. benez256 says:

        In the meantime you can buy a 2600…😉

        Like

  2. thedeviot says:

    I love Joust. The arcade version is on the Midway Arcade Treasures collection (GC/XB/PS2) which is mad cheap.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was one of my first favorite games. I love games where you can fly. I always wasted so much time so the pterodactyl would show up. You *could* defeat it according to legend, which I say because I kind of remembering doing so, but this was 30+ years ago 😋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      30+ years ago??? No, you can’t be that old…😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have aged very well :p

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

