[RetroPicks] Sega stuff


Hello guys!

I can’t wait no more to tell you about the juicy bunch of games I’ve bought for my SEGA consoles, the Master System and the Mega Drive!

Since I’ve always been a Nintendo boy, having owned as a kid a NES and a Game&Watch, now that I’m grown up I thought it could have been the time to try even the other side of the gaming world and I’ve bought the two most important SEGA consoles. However, since I was starving for games, I had to buy a lot of them, to build a small “base” of famous and appreciated games to start to get to grip with the consoles.

So I start with the old lady, the Sega Master System, for which I’ve bought four games.

One of the games I’ve incredibly never played, if not once on an emulate PC version that is one of the defining games of the console with its arcade style aura, is Altered Beast, the scrolling beat’em up that all of you will know. Its fantasy atmosphere, typical for some hack ‘n slash of the period such as Golden Axe, is one of the thing I loved the most even though sometimes trying to mix greek mithology with other stuff can be a bit extreme. For only 12€ I got the game in its original case with the manual. Maybe you can’t tell by the picture bu the condition of everything are perfect it makes me doubt the game has ever been used. I looks like it just came out of the factory; it even smell like new sealed stuff 🙂

The same days I’ve found a belgian seller willing to sell a lot of SMS games in one ot those 1€ auction. You have to be quite carefully to bid in these auctions since the ridiculous starting price could be a double edge sword, because you start way far from the real game price and before you even realize it, you’re bidding for a sum which is higer that the actual value of the game.

I’ve placed bids for like 10 different games but in the end I got only three of them.

The first was Taito Chase H.Q., the game which was on the cover of Retro Gamer #162, that, despite looking like an Out Run clone is actually a great game with its own plot and gameplay. This was the most expensive among the three since I had to cough up 18€.

The second one is a game I always associate with the Master System: Golden Axe. I have found the original game which I saw is quite valuable and I’ve bought it, negotiating on the price, for 12€. The game came with the original box and manual and is one of my favourite classic hack ‘n slash.

Last game, the cheaper one, is Rampart, which I’ve bought not because is the best game in the world but because I like to have some old forgotten games that started anew genre, in this case the tower defense subgenre. An even because it was quit cheap, since I’ve bought it for 3€.

I’ve tried to get other important games such as Rastan, Paperboy, Sonic the Hedgehog and above all Gauntlet, but I have o give up when he prices have started to grow ridicolously high.

After the Master System games now is Mega Drive games turn.

I got the first two games together from the same italian seller and I chose them since back then I was crazy about James Pond II: Codename RoboCod and I wanted to try even the first installment and the third sequel.

So for the small sum of 10€ I’ve bought both Aquatic Games starring James Pond and the Aquabats and James Pond III: Operation Starfish. I hope they’re not as long as James Pond II otherwise I’ll beat them in 50 years.

If I tell you about the third game you’ll pick me by a fool.

I’ve bought for 12€ Altered Beast for Mega Drive. I know, I’ve bought it also for the Master System but I’ve done it on purpose since I wanted to see the differences between the two versions. Maybe I could write something about pros and cons of each game in the future, who knows…

The last game I’ve got (for 18€) is Golden Axe 2, so this time is not the same game I’ve bought for the Master System but is the sequel, this time for the more powerful 16-bit SEGA console.

Will I have the time to play them all?

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. thedeviot says:

    Nice haul! I’m a bit jealous seeing that Chase H.Q. Great game. I have the SMS versions of Golden Axe, and Altered Beast. Golden Axe is ok, though you can only play one player, and only as Ax Battler. Altered Beast kind of sucks though. It’s missing a stage, and the terrible frame rate makes it nearly unplayable at times. Golden Axe II on the Genesis is awesome though! Great finds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes Altered Beast is unplayable. I thought it was a problem of my gane but now that you say so I understand that is the game that sucks…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. hungrygoriya says:

    Awesome games here! The James Pond games look like they’re a lot of fun, so I’m glad you found those for a great price. Actually, all the things you got here were for a great deal.

    And don’t worry. You’re not the only one who owns the SMS and Genesis versions of Altered Beast. 😉

    Like

  3. sluggercat says:

    Very cool I love the sega system. I would pre-order our games at toys r us and impatiently wait for them. Sonic the Hedgehog came out at Christmas time for 3 years in a roll I think. Great site.

    Like

  4. retroredress says:

    Good pick ups! Just don’t play MS Golden Axe or Altered Beast, ok? 😀 Some games are better left on the shelf.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      If you tell me so you unleash my unhealthy passion for awful games…😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. retroredress says:

        Well, your passion for awful games will be satisfied by them two!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        I’ll surely try them then…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. retroredress says:

        Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

