[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 18/06/17


Hello guys,

I’ve spent last week reading a lot. Finally I finished the last issue of Retro Gamer (or at least the last issue they sent me, since they’re one month late with the delivery……) and I picked up again my ZX Spectrum Special and read a bit of that, especially a great piece about Head over Heels that is going to celebrate its birthday during this month and the making of Manic Miner, a game I’m particularly fond to which I revisited in the past.

Plus, since I’ve read tons and tons of ads of NES games, my reference 8-bit console (nay my reference console tout court) I conceived a plan. Since the games I can run on my old loved NES are just a part of all the games released (among the 700+ titles released for the console a bit more than 50% was actually released in Europe) and among these games I have to carefully select the PAL A, avoiding the PAL B (you can check my last purchases here and here), I think the best way to fully taste the NES experience is to get a hacked console.

Normally I wouldn’t do that, since as a (future) collector I’d like to have only original parts, but since I already have an original NES, I think it’s a good idea to have even another one which can read everything. This could be great for me because there are a lot of NTSC games never released here I’d love to play (especially a lot of RPGs) an plus it will be easier to buy games online since I don’t have to care about the format and the region, so even big lot with mixed region games will be ok. Moreover I’ve seen some american sellers with free shipping and no import taxes to pay willing to sell rather big lots of stuff, so I’m crossing all muy fingers and hope to get a region free NES soon…

And in the meantime I keep playing Dr. Mario…just to waste a bit of time 🙂

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status: 12% completed, on hold
  • Castlevania
    Begun
    : January 24th, 2017
    Status: 66% completed, on hold
  • Michael Jackson’s Moonwalker
    Begun: April 25th, 2017
    Status: 33% completed

BOOKS

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Dr. Mario is never a waste of time! 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      You’re right. But it can make me swear like nothing else, especially in med or hi speed. Sometimes this game is so unfair…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What’s your favorite music, Fever or Chill? I like Fever myself 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        I always play with Fever!

        Like

Leave a Reply

