[Happy Birthday!] Alone in the Dark


Hello old games lovers,

No, I’m not talking about the awful movie of 2005, but about the original game, dated June 1992, which was one of the milestones in the genre of advenure and a forerunner of the survival horror subgenre made famous by Resident Evil (1996). We can say that Alone in the Dark is a grandfather of Resident: third person perspective, 3D environment and horror atmosphere. Obviously being a 1992 game the graphics are more rudimental (we see very big and blocky polygons) and the action is quite slow but it’s possibile to feel a beat of fear while wandering in the mansion. It’s definitely a game everyone should play at least once in the life. Sometimes it makes me laugh playing it because some movements are very goofy but if you think that this is a 3D game and it was released in 1992 (while some of the most important were released from 1996) it’s absolutely remarkable.

So let’s celebrate Alone in the Dark 25th anniversary!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I really need to play these someday still. Some of the few horror games I haven’t played for some reason.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Though I had the demos of 1 and 3 back in the day…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. benez256 says:

        I had the full version of 1 and 2…I’ve spent so many hours on them……

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn I loved this game. Was the first game to freak me out too :-p

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      I was scared as f**k the first time I played it. Actually I was scared as well from Ecstatica, never understood why, though…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I remember Ecstatica existing but I never played it. I recall that it had a weird art style to it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        very weird…almost horrible…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 25 years! What?!

    I got the trilogy a few years after they came out, and was totally hooked by them all. I replayed Alone 1 not too long ago, and though it is slow – the tank controls! – it is still playable.

    And a great introduction to the cosmic horror of H.P. Lovecraft!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, it’s so slow that makes me swear most of times. But it’ alwsysa great experience play it again 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

