[RetroPicks] It’s wedNESday!


Hello guys,

Maybe you remember two weeks ago I posted an article regarding my last purchase of Nintendo games, some for NES, some for SNES and some for N64. Well Nintendo got me again and I managed to find other cartridges, this time only for NES, all in good shape and at rather good prices.

I’ve found a seller with a large collection of games to sell and I started to bid on the most interesting ones, throwing also an eye also to some less-known games to check if I could take them for a few euros.

The first game I bought was Track & Field 2 at the ridiculous price of less than 4€. Usually the sports game are not well seen by gamers since they’re the base games everybody want to sell and nobody want to buy. However when the game is a iteration of one of the best arcade olympic games franchise of the 80s I think is worth to spend some money. This is not the original Track & Field I reviewed here but the second installment for NES: an easy game just to spend some time with.

Then I bought two different adventure games for 7€ each. The first is Shadowgate, a game with a large success on the first platform for which was released, the Macintosh, that was later ported on NES. This is a fantasy-horror graphic adventure, with first person visuals. So it’s kind of a strange game for NES even because this version differs a lot from the original, especially for its black humor. I definitely have try it soon.

The second adventure I took, this time more “straightfoward” with a sort of mithological plot is The Battle of Olympus. The game is a sort of mash 90% of The Legend of Zelda II: The Adventure of Link and 10% Castlevania. I wanted to buy this one mainly because I love greek mithology and, even if the references sometimes are wrong, it’s always fun to have a game with a theme like this. This is also the reason why I love Altered Beast and Kid Icarus, for example.

Another cartrige I picked, maybe the most important, is Faxanadu, a game I saw for the first time in one of your reviews. I liked the advenutre/RPG style of it. Plus, the label of the cartridge is something beautiful, almost like The Legend of Zelda first two installments ones; maybe is for my passione for heraldry and armories. Even this game came at a low price, less than 8€ so it would have been foolish not buying it.

Then was the turn of Solstice, a game inspired by Knight Lore, one of the best ZX Spectrum games, made by Ultimate Play The Game. It’s an isometric non linear puzzle-oriented adventure and since the night before seeing this auction I dreamt about Heimdall, an isometric style videogame I played as a kid, I thought it was a good idea to “honour” it with another game with the same visual style. Call it crazy shopping.

The last game I won was Bionic Commando for 7€. It’s a game I remember from the Arcade, since I’ve played it a few times when I had some spare time (or better when all the older boys left the cabin to us pee-wees). I’ve never tried the NES version and I hope the port would be not too bad. I’ve just seen some videos online and it looks like a good game to play but a bit complicated to handle sometimes, especially for the controls).

So, I think I talked even too much of NES games, now it’s time to rest. Or play them!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Some of the very best games on the system. You’re gonna need to break out a notebook for several of these!

    Here is my “pro tip” for you for Faxanadu. In the very beginning you get a gift of some money from the king. Spend carefully and buy items in the starting area that use up all your money exactly so you’re back at 0, then if you go back to the king he gives you the money all over again, and he’ll do that forever until you’re all stocked up on potions and etc. Gives you a nice starting boost.

    Have fun!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. benez256 says:

      Uh, thanks for the tip! Now I’m gonna be extreamly wealthy! 🙂

      Like

  2. Battle of Olympus was balls hard when I was younger. Hopefully you have more luck than I did!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I don’t know…it’s hard for me to complete a game and if you tell me so I doubt I could beat Battle of Olympus…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was fairly young when I played it though, so that’s probably a factor.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mr. Panda says:

    Nice picks, especially Faxanadu and Shadowgate! I really like Shadowgate, and I have no nostalgia with it. I played the NES version a few years ago, and it’s definitely one of those retro point-and-click adventure games with ridiculous logic and cheap deaths. But I knew what I was going into which is why I had more tolerance for it. I hope you have a good time with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve heard great things about Faxanadu and at first glance it looks really good!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hungrygoriya says:

    Faxanadu is my not so secret favourite game for the NES. You’re going to love the adventure, the music, the combat, the… etc. The whole thing!

    Battle of Olympus is also an amazing game. I’ve been dabbling with it here and there and trying to get a feel for it and what to do, and it’s great! I can’t wait to dive in and attempt to play it all the way through.

    I hope you enjoy the games. You’ll have to let me know what you think of Faxanadu when you play it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      When I tried all the games to check of they were working I really loved the atmosphere in Faxanadu. Now I nees to find some time to dedicate to the game without interruption. Maybe this June I will…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hungrygoriya says:

        Yessss! The atmosphere is amazing. It really screams turmoil and despair.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh Faxanadu! I loved that game. Was terrible at it, but I watched a fantastic LP of it by Hungry Goriya not long ago 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      In fact I think I could steal some of her secrets to avoid to suck at this game…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will never be as good as the great HG! I’m okay at platformers, but Faxanadu is quite a doozy.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

