[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 21/05/17


Hello guys,

As you may know, and if you don’t know, you’ll know it now, FINALLY I managed to put my hands on a ZX Spectrum! You can’t tell how happy I am right now. This was the first cpomputer I’ve ever put my tiny hand on back in 1990, when I was still at the kindergarten. Thato one was a 16K Speccy, so not exactly the one I’ve bought, but at least is a Spectrum! 😀 😀 😀 Maybe one day I’ll find a cheap 16K, but for the moment I’d like to enjoy the Spectrum + I purchased after years and years of researches.

I should find some games soon, because ottherwise the computer will be useless since I can’t code, but never say never. Maybe in the meantime I can teach myselve some BASIC and try to squeeze something out of the Speccy…Maybe IU’ll become an indie developer! 😀

No, no, I don’t think this will ever gonna happen, but it will be really fun, maybe I could code a sequel of Pssst, the first game I’ve ever played. Obviously I should change something from the original: it had an ecologist message but nowadays is not well seen to spray the bugs with a spray can…too many CFCs…

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed, on hold
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status: 12% completed, on hold
  • Castlevania
    Begun
    : January 24th, 2017
    Status: 66% completed, on hold
  • Michael Jackson’s Moonwalker
    Begun: April 25th, 2017
    Status: 33% completed

BOOKS

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. thedeviot says:

    You could always hit up ebay for some if you can’t find them locally. Also Mark over at Classic Game Room has been reviewing some ZX Spectrum stuff. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLBXuKNHcf4

    Congrats on the find! Here in the US the trusty ZX Spectrum died quickly as they did a promo with Timex to sell it here, but the American version wasn’t made with quite the same parts. So many of the games aren’t compatible, and most of the US releases are sparse, and hard to come across. A lot of stores put them out at a loss from what I understand so that customers could buy a Commodore 64. At the time Commodore had a promo where sending in a competing computer or console would get you a rebate. So stores got rid of unwanted inventory by selling them at a loss to C64 buyers so they could get the rebate. Not gonna lie though. If I found a US Spectrum in a yard sale I’d keep it around for the history of it all.

    Like

  2. rakanalysis says:

    Something that you could try while you’re waiting for games on tape is to get one of those apps for a smartphone that sends the same sound signals down the line as a cassette player would have back in the day. Given that many of the games are now available on World of Spectrum, it may give you some of a chance to revisit your experiences sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve already tried the emulators on PC but I really want to play them on the original 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

