[RetroPicks] The newcomers!


Hello guys,

Some times ago I had the opportunity to fatten my game collection with some successful auction on eBay from one of my trusted seller. Differently from the last times I haven’t focused on Atari (even because there weren’t games on auction 🙂 ) but, since I’ve just bought a Mega Drive and a SNES, I aimed for Sega and Nintendo cartridges.

I managed to buy 5 games for roughly 60€, four in UK and one in France. As always I chose the games not only depending on their prestige, but also following my heart, titles I loved back then but that I played just a few times and I haven’t had the chance to own ad some ports of game I played on other platforms (especially PC). Finally a couple of days ago all the packagesI was waiting for has arrived and I finally unboxed everything.

The first game I got is Pushover, a game I’ve already reviewed for the small sum of 10€. For sure is not a game that most of you will remember, even because is not one of those that usually pops up in the discussions online or is listed among the high ranked titles. But this cute shameless specimen of product placement (namely Quavers) is one of the games I’m most attached to so I thought it could be a good idea to get also the SNES version.

Another SNES game I won is Super R-Type, one of those that most of you will love. I read a lot of good things about it and I loved its style which is a mix of arcade visuals and some japanese influences; when I saw I could purchase it for a few euros I immediately seized the opportunity and I made it mine for 20€. For sure is possible to find it at an even cheaper price but considering that I bought 4 games from the same seller with no shipping charges I think was worth the hassle.

The other three games I bought are for my old brand new Mega Drive. Since it’s one of the last consoles I purchased and I needed some games to play to get in touch with it, I decided to try and get the first two Mega Games compilations. I feel a bit like the bottom of the class for having done this since I read that almost all of you are collecting precious, famous and appreciated games but, hey, everybody need a starting point!

The first compilation, Mega Games I, includes Columns, the SEGA version of Tetris bred with Puzzle Bobble milk, Super Hang-On, sequel of the world famous Hang-on (that is pre-installed on the Master System I bought), also cited on Retro Gamer issue #166  and World Cup Italia ’90 (well, you should easily understand what we’re talking about!). Since this is a rather common cartridge I got it for only 6€.

Mega Games II instead features three more regarded games and even for this reason the price was a bit higher, almost 15€, but considering that the price of the three separate cartridges would have been surely higher I think this was anyway a good deal. The games are Golden Axe, one of my favourite entry-level games on Mega Drive, Streets of Rage (have a look at Retro Gamer issue #159) and The Revenge of Shinobi, the game designed to make me change my mind about the Ninja style games which are not among my favourites (even because I don’t know them so well).

Last but not the least is Flashback, sort of “sequel” of Another World (known in the US as Out of This World), one of the most peculiar and great games of early 90s. It’s been a while since I want to put my hands on this game and I thought I would have picked up first the MS-DOS version but I got the Mega Drive one instead and I can’t wait to try it!

I hope I coud get something else good and cheap soon and, as always, if you got some tips for a newcomer in the world od retro games I’m open to your suggestions!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I may still have my DOS version of Flashback in the attic. It was quite hard to play using a keyboard though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve had more difficulties playing with Mega Drive joypad. For me the keyboard is more natural…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great stuff. Especially Flashback.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yep. Flashback is a great game!

      Like

  3. thedeviot says:

    Those are pretty good pickups! Surprised the compilation cart only has three games though. Here in the US there was an official 6 in 1, where you got those three games plus Sonic 1, Columns, and Super-Hang On.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve seen they made various compilations, I think 5 or 6…I haven’t found the 6 in 1 though…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Out of This World was such an amazing game, so ahead of its time. We never finished it, but it’s one I would love find an LP of. It was probably one of the first games to feel more like a movie to me. That world was so creepy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’ve never beaten it too. Too conplicated but yes, it was an amazing game. Flashback is a bit easier and more like an enhanced version of Prince of Persia to me…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is an interesting selection and I have not played many of them. I did not realise that compilation games were released for the Mega Drive, I have usually associated them with later consoles catering to gamers wanting to play older games. It is also strange that 3 games from different series were used, I would have expected to find different cartridges each with the 3 Golden Axe, 3 Streets of Rage and Shinobi games. I was also interested to find an obscure game was included in the article, it is unique to discuss a game that less people have played, rather than write about a game that many bloggers have reviewed. I would suggest finding the rest of the Golden Axe, Shinobi and Streets of Rage games, it may provide an interesting perspective as a reviewer as you could discuss how the games have progressed over the series.
    How is Pushover product placement for Quavers? What is Flashback? How is it peculiar?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I think at SEGA they followed Nintendo footsteps. As on NES they made the Mario Bros./Duck Hunt or the Mario Bros./Tetris/World Cup cartridges, even SEGA sold their compilation. I think mainly because in the end they were losing the “war” against Nintendo an with these cartridges they could sell three gret games at the price of one, maybe to attract potential new players. Regarding Pushover they put in the game some cartoonesque cutscenes starring Quavers mascot. Flashback rose to popularity for its beautiful gameplay, for its puzzles and for using the rotoscope technique for the main character, a trick used also from Another World and Prince of Persia.

      Like

  6. Mill says:

    ‘Mega Games I’ was my very first game.
    It’s fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cool pickups! I had a lot of fun and spent a good few hours on the Megadrive.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mr. Panda says:

    Nice acquisitions! I’m excited for you! I didn’t even realize that Flashback was a sequel to the great Out of this World!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Actually is not a proper sequel. But comes from the same developer and has very similar visuals…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

