[RetroPicks] Gifts from London!


Hello guys,

As you may know a couple of weeks ago I’ve been to London with my girlfriend. Finally we had the possibility to visit the city and luckily we had five sunny and hot days and I had the possibility to attend the London Gaming Market that was exactly in the same hotel where we stayed! 🙂

The event was quite busy but luckily we were one of the firsts in the queue so we entered immediately. The even room was quite lange even thjought this was my first time and I don’t know how large other markets are. There were I think 20 or so stands selling everything from Atari to PS3 so almost every console generation was covered. The only little regret I had was the absence of a ZX Spectrum. I was looking for this since ages but I trust I can find it sooner or later (maybe better sooner……)

So, here’s the family portrait of what I’ve found. Unfortunately I didn’t have so much money and especially I dind’t have room enough in my suitcase! Since I have just a few games but most important a few consoles I focused mainly on purchasing them. I’ll have time to buy games later, I don’t need games if I don’t have the console to run them. I haven’t included in the pictures all the cables, power and aerial leads to avaid to have pictures with tons of useless wires, but trust me they’re all 100% original.

The first console I bought was another Nintendo masterpiece, the immortal SNES, obviously the European smooth version, not the blocky american one (that wouldn’t work here). It came with all the original cables and leads and with one “dogbone” controller for the price of 55£. ou can find even cheaper ones around but I didn’t want to wait longer to finally get an original SNES. Everyting was in very good loking condition and there’s no need to say that everything work perfectly!

The second console I bought is my first encounter with a SEGA machine, the proud SNES antagonist, especially in America, the Mega Drive, known as Genesis on the other side of the Atlantic. This is the first model of Mega Drive, not the restyled one with red buttons and even this came with all cables, one controller and the game Sonic for a total of 35£. The controller is the SEGA original and a thing I immediately noted is its volume. I use to have Nintendo controllers in my hands or in case PS controllers and I only had a few possibilities in the past to playt SEGA games so I didn’t remember the controller to be so large. It’s easy to handle though and even if is a bit less robust than the NES one, I have to admit that using it got me good vibes.

Games department. I’ve already told you about the Sonic game that came with the MD; the first game I bought was Duke Nukem 64 for N64 for 12£. I know most of you could turn the nose up, since this game received some poor reviews and is definitely not one of the console “classics” and not one of the games you usually read about. But I’ve grown up with Duke on my PC and I love FPS games so, for the moment I’d like to get the games I love or games I could love, no matter if they’re not “mainstream”. Of course I’d like to buy one day all the classic, but since they could be a bit pricey I decided to stay inside my “comfort zone” for a while and then when I’ve built a base for my collection, start to get other well known titles.

Following the same criteria, the second game bought was Quake II for 6£, another FPS that was a big success on PC. Unfortunately I haven’t found the Expansion Pak required to run it so I think I’ll have to wait a bit in order to play it. In the meantime I can only enjoy the cartridge art 🙂

Since I bought a SNES I couldn’t help to buy also Super Mario All-Stars for 15£, the essential game for this console. This cart, along with the other ones I bought, is loose, but sincerely at the moment I don’t care to have a fully boxed item. Maybe in the future, but let’s go step by step 🙂

I didn’t find other good games at a SO reasonable price, but my eyes fell on a loose specimen of Michael Jackson Moonwalker and I immediately though about my beloved follower hungrygoriya. Well, it was actually for the Genesis, but unfortunately the box and booklet were missing so I passed. The price was actually honest (15£), but I know that you’re looking mainly for boxed and complete games, especially in this case 🙂

Last game I purchased is one of the true classic not only of N64, but even for Nitendo and for the whole gaming world. Yes, I’ve been a bit a liar before when I told you that I’m overlooking the classics. I mean, if they’re cheap and in good conditions…why not buying them? For this reason when I saw a shining copy od The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for 14£, I couldn’t help but take it. I’m new to the Zelda world and I have on my shoulders just a few hours of play on the first two episodes, so this might be the starting point of this new experience!

…and last but not least something disconnected from the retrogaming world (kinda…). There was a guy selling a Super Mario mug (with also easter eggs inside!) for 5£. When I saw that the mug was one of those that change the color depending on the temperature I bought it immediately. And when I notice that not also it changed color, but also the image was different if you poured hot water in it, changing between two screenshot of Mario, the “traditional” one and the “Game over”, I decided to buy another one 🙂 Mario got me again…

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

23 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s worth the trip for the Mario egg alone 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      You’re right, it’s definitely the coolest thing of them all!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Some great pick ups !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hungrygoriya says:

    Awesome!!! You definitely found some really great stuff at a great price! I’m so happy for you :)! You’ll have to talk about Duke Nukem on console versus PC. I think FPS games on console introduce a unique challenge so I’m curious to hear what you think.

    I absolutely love the little differences between PAL and NTSC labels. Your All Stars and Ocarina of Time look so different from what I’m used to seeing, but still look really cool and classic. Ocarina of Time is a great game. I played it for the first time a few years ago and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. I’m glad you found the consoles too. They look to be in excellent shape. I laughed about the huge Genesis/Megadrive controller comment. It’s too big, I agree!

    Thanks for thinking of me when you saw Moonwalker. We saw a boxed copy at the swap a few weekends ago for $80. Still too expensive! Someday!

    So glad I got to wake up and read this. I kept refreshing my reader all day yesterday waiting! Congratulations again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Wow, thanks for your long reply! I tried DN3D on N64, just to check the game worked and after a few time putting the cart in and out I managed to play it. Visually they are virtually identical or at least they have no major differences. However I felt myself very awkward tryng to control Duke with N64 controller. I use to play DN3D with the keyboard and I have to lear to use the trihorned controller of Nintendo. I tried different settings because no one of them was working with me and finally I managed to find one that was better (nay, less worse than other): keeping in my hand the controller as a gun. So I used the stick with the thumb to move Duke and my pointer to fire using the the Z-trigger. Is not a good configuration (actually the game says is for left handed pieople), but at least I do not die every like 6 seconds. Apart from this even the gameplay looks very similar to the PC version…but maybe I’ll write a post about it 😉
      Yes, the consoles are in a great shape, only the SNES had a small stain on the side but with a dampen sponge everything turned out to be perfect. I have to say that also the console itself, not only the controller of the Mega Drive is a bit too “light”, they seems like they’re 100% plastic!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hungrygoriya says:

        I’m glad you’re accepting the challenge of the controller for DN3D. I remember starting Mass Effect when a friend had lent me his XBox360 ages ago and having no ability to shoot anything because of the touchy controls and the fact that the camera was “backwards” from all the other games I had played (little did I know you could switch it in the menu). Needless to say, I never picked up another FPS again! I look forward to a post you might make about it!

        Don’t you just love the random brownness that comes along with used goods? I’ve wiped so many stains off of things I pick up that it’s not even funny, and I’m so glad your stain came off easily! I hope you can find some more games soon enough. Maybe this version of The Lost Levels on All Stars will be a little more forgiving than the other version you were playing.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        For sure All Star features an easier version of The Lost Levels. I played the original on the virtual console on my 2DS and it’s simply impossible! Even because the controls are slightly different than NES ones.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. hungrygoriya says:

        I’ve only played the All Stars version. Lucky me I guess :P!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        Sooooo lucky. One day I would like to try The lost levels on an original Famicom. I think it will be the greatest gaming challenge of my life!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. hungrygoriya says:

        I hope you would record it and have a face camera to show the pure frustration and rage! It would be pretty great 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. benez256 says:

        It could be a compilation of the worst swears ever heard by human ear…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Matt says:

    Awesome purchases!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I do not remember seeing many SNESs before, so it was interesting to see a picture of one. I did not release there was an eject button, I just thought the player removes them like with the Mega Drive. I also did not realise the cartridges were so big either. I have never seen an original model of the Mega Drive, I am more familiar with the second model brought out. It is unusual to see a volume control switch on the console itself. It is a shame that you do not have the boxes, I always liked the boxes for the Mega Drive games, which were like plastic blocks and seemed to be decorated with a weird grid pattern. I have only played the Legend of Zelda game, I remember the gold lettering and decorations against the black background.
    Do you have a picture of the Mega Drive controller? I am more used to later controllers, with the auto and turbo functions, but I remember the original ones were large and smooth. I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday and the mug seems interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, the SNES has an Eject but I almost never use it 😉 I saw online a lot of Mega Drive 2, even at cheaper prices but I wanted the original model with (I agree with you) the odd volume controller. I like boxed games too, but this one came loose with the console; the boxes you’re referring too that actually look live old VHS cases are for the Master System (a lot of them have the grid on the front). Unfortunately I forgot to include a picture of the controller but I’ll keep that in mind for a future post 😉

      Like

  6. The European SNES is so much smaller than the American version! We do like our blockiness don’t we lol. I love the picture of them side by side. Old enemies together at last. Oh…you’re making me want to add the Genesis to my wanted console list. That post might turn into a series hehe. I’m already regretting that I didn’t add the Dreamcast. I was bereft of Sega growing up, and now I want to make up for it! That makes sense it was also called the Mega Drive since the one prior was the Master System. I don’t know why this makes sense in my head, it just does!

    Congratulations on your wonderful haul! It looks like London was not only fun, but you reaped some great rewards! I’d hope across the pond for some Mario eggs in a heartbeat if I could.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks! You should definitely get a Genesis, there are a plenty of great games! Regarding the home consoles at the moment I still nees to get a Game Cube? Saturn, Dreamcast and a PS1. Then the collection will be complete at least for the major consoles. P.S. Mario eggs were delicious! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s now on my wish list lol. The Game Cube is a cute, little system. I believe that’s how I played Paper Mario, but I do like that the Wii has the ability to play Game Cube games (downloaded) with the ports for that controller. Is the Saturn the equivalent of the N64? I had trouble playing the N64 because the camera movements gave me migraines, so it’s the one system I’m not as familiar/friendly with, mores the pity! I have a PlayStation 1, but I lent it to a friend a long time ago, and I haven’t gotten it back. It would be nice to, but I can still play PlayStation games with my PS2.

        Mmm chocolate :p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        Saturn, N64 and PS were all out at the same time, but Sega lost the war so bad back then. If N64 gives you migraines I don’t think you’ll ever try a VR 😀😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know! It’s more of a motion sickness from the camera angles grrr. it stinks. I’d probably try VR, but I’d keep a bucket handy :p

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        I would really love to try Resident Evil with the VR but I think I would die instantly…

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’d die of a heart attack D:

        Liked by 1 person

      6. benez256 says:

        We’ll be in two…

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Geddy says:

    I gotta say, the Super Famicom looks so much nicer than the one we got over here. So many ugly right angles on ours. I dig the compact look of the JP/EU edition.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

