[Happy Birthday!] Contra


contra

Hello old games lovers,

Today we celebrate the Arcade release of Contra, by Konami that today turns 30. Contra is a game ported on various platforms and has the peculiarity to have different plots for japanese, north american and european versions. The common trait is that an accident has brough an alien life form on Earth but while in Japan the accident happened in New Zealand and the two soldiers Bill Rizer and Lance Bean are sent to destroy the alien controlled organization Red Falcon, in North America the accident takes place in South America and the soldiers are Mad Dog and Scorpion. In Europe the two protagonist are even two robots.

The games has been published with different names: Contra for the japanese arcades, Gryzor for the european and Probotector for NES.

So a lot of difference, but the only thing that matters is that today we all have to play it!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I wanted Contra for Christmas but instead my grandparents got me GOLF. Scarred me for life. Or at least until I got it a little while later…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      It looks like thw Simpsons episode where Bart wants for Christmas Bonestorm and he got Lee Carvallo’s Putting Challenge 😀😀😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I didn’t know different releases had different stories! This is why I love your game birthday posts. I always learn something new 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks! 😊😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mr. Panda says:

    Happy Birthday Contra! I wish I could play it on Virtual Console or NES Classic Edition, but alas, I still haven’t gotten to play this gem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Neither have I! I have to download it on the VC but at the moment Contra in in the backlog…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

