[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 12/02/17


Hello guys!

So, apparently it looks like Netflix got the right to make am animated series based on Castlevania…and they todl that it will be the first ever good video game transposition on the TV screen. We’ll see…

This week, better yet yesterday morning I stumled upon an excellent deal. It was just what I was waiting for, so wait for a victorious post in the next days 🙂 🙂 🙂

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status: 12% completed
  • Castlevania
    Begun: January 24th, 2017
    Status: 66% completed
    Every week a level. This week I completed also level 4 and I can tell I’m rather good and quick in the first 2-3 levels. I can almost see the light ant the end of the tunnel…

BOOKS

  • Retro Gamer Issue #161
    Begun: February 1st, 2016
    Status: 53% completed
    This week I noticed I read a lot, or better, more than the last weeks. The last pages were about Imagic, one of the very first indemepndet game developer companies, created during the roaring 80s. Its life can be easily described as a burst of flame: founded in 1981 (the second ever company of this kind after the most famous Activision) they produced the first video game in 1982 and disappeared in 1983 involved in the video game crash.
  • The Ultimate History of Video Games
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 2% completed
    I decided almost to give up on this book. I still have so many Retro Gamer o read that I want first of all to catch up with them. I think I will open again this book later in the year…

PLANS

I’m studying a project focused on Atari, precisely on Atari 2600 and maybe a twin project for its rivals (Intellivision, Colecovision, etc…) to create a catalog with all the infos on all the games ever released. The problem is that the sources are difficult to find and sometimes in contraddiction and it’s hard to identify the correct one. However I found a lot of interesting places online with scans of the magazines and a lot of media (images, videos and documents). I think I could do something interesting, obviously having the time…

One of the first steps would be buy a good VCS with some games to start to get infos from the best source, the games themselves.

Let’s see what it will be!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

