[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 05/02/17


Hello guys!

Two evenings ago I was watching TV (which is a rare event for me 🙂 ) and suddenly popped up an episode of “Pawn Stats” which is one of the things sometimes I like to watch (I don’t know if in US this is still a thing but in Italy we use to air the shows when they’re not mainstream elsewhere anymore) and there was a man willing to sell his Magnavox Odyssey 200. When I saw it it was like for a child to discover a bag full of gift the Christmas morning. My girlfrined actually stared at me like I were crazy, but it’s hard to see on TV somebody that wants to sell something like that. And another thing I realized is that the pawn shops are making huge business on stuff like that. The guy in the end gave up but the offer for a 1975 Odyssey 200 boxed in almost mint condition was 25$!!! Can you imagine? I see online specimen that are sold for up to 100$-150$!!!

Anyway these were my 15 minutes of celebrity since I REALLY knew what they were taking about 🙂

Beside this the week was rather straightforward with no particular event. I finally received the last issue of Retro Gamer (I will show it in a post next week) and I kept playing Castlevania, finishing the 3rd level. I still have to cut my teeth a bit more and refine my technique but I think I could beat the game in a reasonable time and most important without any tip, hint or game save – I swear –

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status: 12% completed
  • Castlevania
    Begun: January 24th, 2017
    Status: 50% completed
    Another small step in the Castlevania universe now that I managed to complete also the third level. I’m starting to feel more comfortabel in Simon shoes…

BOOKS

  • Retro Gamer Issue #160
    Begun: January 7th, 2016
    Status: 100% completed on January 31st after 24 days
    With a final rush worth of Usain Bolt’s last 50m out of a 200m final I finished this old issue and finally I can move to another one!
  • Retro Gamer Issue #161
    Begun: February 1st, 2016
    Status: 35% completed
    This volume is dedicated to the Pokemon phenomenon. Actually I’ve never been a Pokemon fan (better yet I hated them) but it was interesting anyway to read something about that. By the way the most interesting piece was about the Atari 2600 Jr. one of the member of the huge and almost endless 2600 family.
  • The Ultimate History of Video Games
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 2% completed
    Would you beleieve it? Yesterday night I picked up the book and I started to read it again! It’s a shame I fell asleep after two pages… 😦

PLANS

Play NES mini until my eyes bleed (again) 🙂

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your plans! And isn’t it great when you recognize something obscure on TV, the thing you’re obsessed with. It’s like everything in the universe just fell into place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yeeeees! When I saw it, was an incredble feeling!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

