[Ye Olde] 5 sounds that make you feel old


Hello old boys (and pretty young girls around there),

Last december I turned 31 so I can fully say I’m in the 4th decade of my life. And this means that my mind is starting to get used to think bout the number 4, hence the number 40, so 40 years.

I know I’m not so old, I mean I can still stand on my feet, my health is good and I sleep well (but don’t tell me to play futsal because in 5 minutes my tongue will be longer than my legs) however I lived enough to see a huge evolution of gaming, consoles and computers and most of all the birth and growth of the internet.

For this reason, as most of the people oif my generatio I became a bit nostalgic especially when I see pictures, read books and watch documentaries about the golden era of gaming or the days in which some geek created developed in their garages the world we are now living in.

They say imagines and videos are maybe the most powerful media to convey feeling and sensations, but It would be unwise to underestimate the power of the sound. For this reason I gathered some of the most nostalgic sounds (and sometimes images) that people like me (and I think like many of you) recognizes as the signs that the times has changed.

Se, if you want to feel old, or better, experienced check this out:

1. 56k modem noise

That’s my favourite. It looks like you’re in Cape Canaveral waiting for the Shuttle to lift off. You can even hear the sound of the nozzles that are shouting…

2. Windows opening jingles

This is for the youngest among you; even though if you are thinking “Oh, Win95 is not so old” my answer is “It’s more than 20 years old” :O  Windows 95 has been in fashion from 1995 to the last legs of the 90’s, even after the release of Windows 98 for the big step Microsoft made from Win 3.x running under MS-DOS to Win95 that put the MS-DOS prompt in an obscure corner of the Start menu. Regarding Win 3.x, here’s a little gem for you (believe it or not I passed countless hours in listening Microsoft sounds and this one below, named tada.wav was one of my favourites)

3. ZX Spectrum croak

Speccy has been my first home console. Actually it wasn’t mine since it was my uncle on, but I like to refer to it as my first. And you can’t forget you first love…

4. C64 psychedelic loading screen

C64 is one of he most longeve home comptuer ever released. It’s in the heart of millions of computer lovers and it’s a great starting point for a collection. His biscuit shape is famous all over the world, but its beauty it’s not comparable with the adorably horrible loading rant…

5. Floppy Disk at work and eject

Ahh, the floppy disk. It’s depressing to see some newbies that don’t have any idea of what actually is a floppy disk. My love for this storage support is clear, I even wrote a post about it. Hearing the noise of the drive that reads the floppy and the satisfying sound of the floppy that comes out of the case at the end of an installation it used to be a great experience. But with a floppy drive you can do even this

Let’s face it. We are growing old…

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. #6: “You’ve got mail!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I will surely keep this in mind for a “Other 5 sounds that make you feel old” post…:)

      Like

  2. Fantastic list!!

    I also offer for your consideration the Nokia ringtone… Or, do you remember those keychains that had the 8 little buttons on them that made all those weird sound effects??
    …or every single noise from Space Cadet pinball haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I remember these! Actually Space Cadet should have been on the list too…😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Those sounds bring me back. Ahh the old dial up internet. Hearing it happen was the best sound in the world especially if you’d been having connection issues. I still remember the old AOL sign on sound and the sounds of AOL instant messenger, and I love the musical disk drives. There are entire YouTube pages dedicated to playing old school video game music from them. It’s like double nostalgia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Even for me the sound of the modem is the best of them all and the one that reminds me the best memories. I had a lot of connections issues back then and anytime I heard this wonderfully awful noise I felt like I was diving into the future. And everything for a sh**ty connection. I remember using WinMX to download the songs and that it took like 20 minutes to get one. The connestion was like 4.8 k/s at it best…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I used Napster! And I played all of my music through Winamp, which was this amazing program that allowed you to cycle through certain covers or “skins.” I downloaded so many of those.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        I used Winamp too but despite the success I never used Napster…I still remember the first songs I downloaded. So great times. Maybe I will dedicate a post to Winamp in the future! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I remember the huge lawsuit that Napster was involved in (which is probably why it doesn’t exist anymore) then its successor Limewire took over, and that was fine…if you wanted to risk having 40,000 viruses lol.

        That would be amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        Good ol’ days when the viruses raged all over my PC trying to overwhelm each others…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post! Ah, the dial up modem sounds… I am turning 31 in just a few months, so I often feel nostalgic for these little gems of my youth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      This one along with Win sounds are my favourites…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Once AOL was installed that was the end. 95 was incredible. 98se was prime.

    https://disputesofan80skid.wordpress.com/2017/02/04/disputes-at-a-glance/

    Like

  6. Mr. Panda says:

    I came here to feel old, and mission accomplished! I’d already committed many of those noises to memory, particularly the dial-up and Windows noises!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

