[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 22/01/17


Hello guys!

As you might know from one of my latest post, I FINALLY put my hands on a NES Mini. You cannot imagine the emotion when I plugged it on my TV and turned it on; seeing all those faboulous games all in one place it was like for a kid going into a candy shop. I haven’t decided yet what game to play first (maybe you could suggest one if you like 😉 ) not only because I’m already playing other three games, but because today (along with tomorrow and monday) I will be off from work AND I will be alone in my house so I will have ALL the time in the world to lose my eyes on the TV, as I did in the good old days.

Apart from this, here’s what happened this week

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 60% completed
    Again no progress here. This week everything is in stand-by 🙂
  • Duke Nukem – Episode three: Trapped in the Future
    Begun: January 4th, 2017
    Status: 60% completed
    You know what? This is actually a stupid game, let’s be frank, but can be really really tricky and annoying; I’m stuck at 6th level and I cannot go further. Maybe it will be because my mind is elswhere…
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 – The Lost Levels
    Begun: January 16th, 2017
    Status:
    As you may know from one of my last week post I downloaded for my 2DS this hidden gem of the Mario world. It’s harder than Super Mario Bros. (and this is a fact) but the main issue I had was to get used again to the “old” key disposition of the NES (B to run and A to jump), since I was accustomed to use X and A (as they’re the standard keys in the DS). I took this game as a real challenge so I don’t want to save my progress, as it was in the NES. Tough challenge!

BOOKS

PLANS

Play NES mini until my eyes bleed 🙂

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Hm, my vote is for Mr. Dream’s Punch-Out (formerly Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out, but the rights for that ran a while ago) or you could go really original and play SMB 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I kept SMB just as a pastime, since I completed it 1854 times. At this point I can akmost try a speedrun…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never finished it. I’m apparently bad with Mario games hehe. I have finished SMB 2, 3, and World though so I’m not TOO bad.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        Wait, you finished SMB3 and not SMB1 and NSMB? How is this possible! 😀😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know right? SMB3 wasn’t nearly as hard as SMB1 though! I remember I could never figure out flying when I first played SMW though and would have to ask my brother to do those parts. I have no idea why that defeated me so much. I think with NSMB it’s been so long since I’ve played a Mario game that my skills are rust :p

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        Wow, for me SMB1 was the easiest of theem all. I think it was the first game I completed. By the way it’s strange how a game could be so difficult to some players and so easy for other ones…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats finding a NES mini! They’re impossible to find!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Luckily in Italy there are less collectors and Nintendo fanatics than in the U.S.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. America has just plain fanatics lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

