[Review] New Super Mario Bros.


new-super-mario-bros-cover

REVIEW # 00000000 00110100

Mario number one!

30+ millions of copies sold: this data can explain better than any other the worldwide success of New Super Mario Bros. the “killer app” for the DS and the best selling game of the console (of ALL the DS console family…). It wasn’t easy to replicate the tremendous success of the first titles of the franchise, but Nintendo did somewhat even better since NSMB is in 2nd position in the all-time list of the best selling Mario games, having sold 10 millions of copies less than the first Super Mario Bros. but more than Super Mario Bros. 3, Super Mario World and Super Mario 64.

And now a message dedicated to The Shameful Narcisist: you have all my support, keep trying and complete NSMB!

My heart says…

90%

There’s nothing to say, Mario was born in 2D and has to be in 2D. Even if there are 3D game that made an incredible success, like the first 3D Mario game, Super Mario 64 for the N64, nothing beats the 2D set. And it’s the same for the main characters: even if Nintendo released tons of games where the main character wasn’t Mario but one of the others of his universe, the best Nintendo games are the “classic” Super Mario Bros. For this reason, New Super Mario Bros., released in 2006 but with the same spirit of the first games, for me is one of the best titels of the franchise. It cannot be the best because it follows the footsteps of the timeless adventures of the 80’s but it’s for sure a great game that I fondly remember when I first played during the Christmas of 2006 on the DS I gave as a gift to my mother. I played it all day long for two weeks and I immediately completed it. It was a great experience and it soon became one of the best platformer I’ve ever played!

Splash screen

90%

The splash screen shows us the story behind the nth time Peach got kidnapped by Bowser and his gang. While the story is more than ordinary, it’s interesting how it has been turned into a small video. Gives a bit more context to all the story.

Graphics

100%

My opinion migh be (nay, IS) biased, but this is the kind of graphics I always loved: 2D, bright, colourful…and with a mustachioed man in it.

new-super-mario-bros-3

Narrative

90%

It’s more or less always the same old story: Mario wants to go in 2nd base with Peach but Bowser is a real pain in the ass so while the two lovers are walking hand in hand, Bowser distract Mario (it seems that his attention span is comparable to a sleepy sloth one) and kidnap Peach. Ando so AGAIN dozen of levels of fights with Gombas, Koopas etc…

Mario, with this behave you cover with shame all the italians in the world! 🙂

Gameplay

100%

In New Super Mario Bros. we’ve been offered the possibility to take on 80 different levels in the original 2D style as it was in the first chapters. The gameplay is essentially the same with some new tricks Mario can handle, for example hold on cliffs and walls and some new entries in the power-up roster such as the Mega Mushroom that enlarges beyond the conceivable our protagonist.

new-super-mario-bros-2

So Nintendo again bet on the reliable gameplay that made them famous all over the world and simply enhanced the graphics.

Differently from the first games, NSMB it’s easier since you have a lot of possibilities to gain extra lives, especially when on the world map you unlock the green mushroom. In fact anytime you have 5 big coins (there are three hidden in every level) you can unlock a secret passage or access to some bonus areas (Toad House, Green Mushroom etc…) so unless you are a newcomer in Mario world you will complete the game without losing all of your lives.

new-super-mario-bros

Sound

100%

Always the good old Mario sound. Actually in NSMB the background music is different from all the other games and the only things that tie this title to the rest of the saga are the effects you can here when you lose a life, at the end of the level and everytime you find the Star. But as in the best Nintendo tradition, the sound department is excellent and it will remains engraved in your mind for months.

Longevity

80%

This is a great game but it suffers of the same “defect” of the modern game: you can save your progress.

Even if it’s longer than the original Super Mario Bros. game (and therefore way longer than the – always praise It – Super Mario Bros. 3) it has for sure less charme, even if – I repeat myself – it’s a great game, and is easier with a lot of ways to gain extra life. As I told you I completed it in two weeks. And I’m not a completist, I’m exactly the opposite. So the longevity, even if is high, cannot reach the level of other games.

Final Score 92/100

95%


Year: 2006

Developer: Nintendo

Publisher: Nintendo

Genre: Platform

Game Mode: Single Player, Multiplayer

Original Platform: Nintendo DS

From the same developers/publishers:

Inspired to:

  • Mario Bros. (1983)

If you liked it you can also try:

  • Uhm, I don’t know, all the Mario franchise???

Other chapters of the saga:

  • Super Mario Bros. (1985)
  • Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels (1986)
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 (1988)
  • Super Mario Bros. 3 (1988)
  • Super Mario World (1990)
  • Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island (1995)
  • Super Mario 64 (1996)
  • Super Mario Sunshine (2002)
  • Super Mario Galaxy (2007)
  • New Super Mario Bros. Wii (2009)
  • Super Mario Galaxy 2 (2010)
  • Super Mario 3D Land (2011)
  • New Super Mario Bros. 2 (2012)
  • New Super Mario Bros. U (2012)
  • Super Mario 3D World (2013)

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Love this game. Remember playing it death on various train journeys years ago. It was just this, and Tetris.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      NSMB was my job during the winter holidays of 2006-07. Fond memories of them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gouldfish44 says:

    Its a very high score for a short auto runner in my opinion. And the bosses are essentially copy and paste from previous games. To me, this game is a very lazy effort from Nintendo, with no new ideas and very little innovation.

    Like

    1. benez256 says:

      I have to tell that yes, it’s very easy and it’s always the same old Mario game, you’re right. Maybe I was influenced but the fact that this was the first 2D Mario game I played after I beat Super Mario Bros. 3, but I think that in the end it’s an excellent game. However thanks a lot for your comment!

      Like

  3. I really need to get the motivation to play NSMB…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Here’s the motivation for you: do it. Do it or Bowser will knock your door to spit in your face one of his fireballs. Plus his breath isn’t so fresh. It’s disgusting, really. Like rotten fish…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. When I first got my Nintendo DSi, the first game I got was this very game, a safe choice but a good one nonetheless. Great review. You have a new follower

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      It’s good to have you here, thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I will keep trying! Eventually I’ll get past that board. I think I may just be rushing it instead of taking my time 🙂

    I love how the koopas dance to the music, and I agree; they did an excellent job staying true to the franchise with this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, run, run like you’ve never ran before. Sometimes it helps a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. stadarooni says:

    Thank you for this review! I still remember getting this game with my DS back in 2008 for Christmas, and I really enjoyed it back then! Please have a new follower.

    I look forward to what’s in store!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mr. Panda says:

    Excellent review! The NSMB series has become something else over the years, but I enjoyed the first one for finally giving us a new 2D Mario platformer after what seemed like the longest drought. Sure, it’s somewhat oversaturated now, but it had solid roots. I would say that saving was a good thing for the series though, especially for handhelds and playing in short bursts. Other than that, yeah, it’s easier, but I still enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

