[Coming of Age] Might and Magic VII: For Blood and Honor


might-and-magic-vii-for-blood-and-honor

Hello old games lovers!

We celebrate today the 18th anniversary of the release of Might and Magic: For Blood and Honor, sequel of Heroes of Might and Magic III, the seventh chapter of the M&M saga, began on Apple II in 1986. We were at the apogee of the RPG era and M&M VII had good reviews, maybe not as some previous titles but it was a very enjoyable game.

And the fact that the saga still continue nowadays (the tenth installment has been released in 2014) means that New World Computing did a good job, even with 7th chapters.

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve always wanted to go back and try to beat this game since it kicked my ass back when it came out (back when I didn’t have as much patience for games like this), but I don’t have the 200 hours or so to spare for it. Maybe someday…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I know that feeling……

      Like

  2. You must have quite a chart to keep track of all of these game anniversaries!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Usualy I use a whole day during the weekend to track all the anniversaries…especially to try to find the release dates of the very old games from the 70s and early 80s…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The only anniversary I know by heart is the one for FFVII 🙂 It’s January 31 for Japan and September 9 for NA (1997)! It’s still quite an arduous task that you keep track of all of them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        Now you spoiled my Jan 31st post! 😜😜😜 by the way it’s interesting to keep all the anniversaries traced down…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Tee hee I just knew it was coming :p I usually post about it on September 7 because that’s when it came to NA and it’s kind of a triple seven…sort of. September is the ninth month of the year, but it’s prefix means “seven” :p

        Liked by 1 person

      4. benez256 says:

        Oh I see the trick. For us in Italy it’s even easier to associate september and seven. It’s not unusual for me when I write a date to write 07 instead of septemper, 08 instead of october or 09 instead of november. Sometimes even 10 for december…

        Liked by 1 person

      5. It’s so funny because they used to be months 7-10, but then July and August were added for the Caesars, and that through the whole thing off. I want to say it’s the Julian calendar we use, but don’t quote me on that!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. benez256 says:

        I think it was mainly because they started counting the months from March. Spring was the opening of the year back then. Does make sense…

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I know that April used to be counted as the start of the new year, then they switched to January and people who still celebrated April as New Year’s were ridiculed (that’s where April Fool’s comes from), so that does make sense. I remember I had this book growing up that explained why all the months were called what they are. I remember some of them, but not all 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

