[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 01/01/17


Hello folks!

I hope your Christmas holidays have been good! I read from your Twitter posts that some of you guys had some wonderful gifts and I’m happy for all of you! As you may know I received from my GF the long-time wanted Nintendo 2DS so I spent the week playing with it and beating all the games I could put my hands onto.

So this is the weekly recap of what happened:

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 54% completed
    This week I made no progress on EU IV since I’ve been busy with my Christmas gift 🙂 but for sure I’ll have time in the next days to devise a plan to rule over a bigger slice of Europe…
  • Duke Nukem – Episode two: Moonbase
    Begun: December 22nd, 2016
    Status: 20% completed
    …same thing as for EU IV. I put the mode stand-by to my loved Duke. I know he will understand…;)
  • New Super Mario Bros. 2
    Begun: December 25th, 2016
    Status: 100% completed on December 27th, 2016 after 2 days
    This might be the quickest game to be completed in my history. Maybe because it’s a bit too easy, maybe because I played so many Mario titles that I know how the game works.  However it was an enjoyable experience I suggest to all Mario fans!
  • New Super Mario Bros.
    Begun: December 28th, 2016
    Status: 100% completed on December 31st, 2016 after 3 days
    I had my new 2DS, I still have NSMB from my mom’s old DS so why not try to beat it again? IAnd so I did! And since I’m in a Mario trance I became super quick to complete all the worlds, and I beat this game for the second time. I take the opportunity to give an encouragement to The Shameful Narcissist to finally beat this game. C’mon!!! 🙂

BOOKS

  • Retro Gamer Issue #159
    Begun: December 4th, 2016
    Status: 86% completed
    You can rightfully call me “His Slowness”, even if I almost see the end of this volume and I’m ready to read the next one. Unfortunately I won’t have neither a week of holidays in sight so I think even the next issue will be very long to read…:(
  • The Ultimate History of Video Games
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 2% completed
    The book is on my night table. I watch him, he watches me, we watch each other…

PLANS

In the last days I made a couple of offers for some retroconsoles, I don’t want to tell you the names, maybe I will be lucky and you’ll know them shortly 😉 By the way I scraped together some cash so now I’m ready to spend some for a deserved gift for myself. Let’s see!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I feel like your reading of The Ultimate History is like my playing of Dawn of Souls and FFIV on the DS/GBA. The console sits there on my nightstand. I glance at it from time to time. I talk about the games in each of my weekly posts. I’m far too tired from doing other things and being obsessed with World of Final Fantasy. I feel incredibly guilty. Then I fall asleep. We’ll eventually finish all of our projects. I believe in us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      If we’ll be lucky enough the science will discover how to live 150 years, so when I will retire I will have other 70-80 years to finish the book…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is how I feel about everything. I don’t want to be immortal for power. I just need more time to do everything!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        That’s right!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

