[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 25/12/16


Hello folks!

Another week has passed among books, games, Christmas light, work, dogs and 213596 other things. So now, while I’m hearing the sound of an off-key bagpipe on the street (I guess why a bagpipe, my town has never been so irish…) tha seems more one of the flutes used by the snake enchanters, it’s time for my nweekly recap of what has happened in my world:

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 54% completed
  • Carmageddon
    Begun: November 23rd, 2016
    Status: 100% completed on December 19th, 2016 after 26 days
    Another game I finally beat! Actually last race was hard but less harder that I thought. The real trouble was in when I was around P5 in the classification: there I found the toughest race of them all!
  • Duke Nukem – Episode one: Shrapnel City
    Begun: December 19th, 2016
    Status: 100% completed on December 22nd, 2016 after 3 days
    Another throwback to the past. This time with 1991 game Duke Nukem, composed by three chapters. In a few days I already completed the first, Shrapnel City and I thought all of them were easy like this, but then…
  • Duke Nukem – Episode two: Moonbase
    Begun: December 22nd, 2016
    Status: 20% completed
    …But then when I started the second chapter, the things started to became a bit harder…

BOOKS

  • Retro Gamer Issue #159
    Begun: December 4th, 2016
    Status: 69% completed
    What the hell, I’m so slow to read! I just got #162 (very very late delivered) and in a week or so will arrive #164. And I’m still stuck to #159! I don’t know if I will ever cath up with the arriving issues. By the way on this volume I read a very interesting piece about Codemasters and their story. Cool!
  • The Ultimate History of Video Games
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 2% completed
    Still no time to improve my score. Maybe I will complete it by Christmas 2018???

PLANS

On December 21st I sudden noted that at GameStop in my towa they had a NES Mini on sale at the original price (not that super-inflate prices you find elsewhere). The problem was that when I went there the day after it was already sold out…:( 😦 😦

I think NES Mini will become my Nemesis…

nemesis
No, not this Nemesis…

I’m still looking with my eyes wide open to some good deals for an old consoles. The problem is that everyday I’m willing to buy a different one so it’s hard to concentrate on a single one. I think in the end I will take the one with the most interesting price…

That’s all folks!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. The NES Mini is a rare unicorn in the States, too. Don’t despair! Hope you had a Merry Christmas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Unforrunately this year I had to work on December 24th and 25th…😣 for sure next Christmas will be better…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ughhh, that’s the worst. I hope you were at least duly compensated for it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        We’ll see…At least I don’t have to work on December 31st! 🙂

        Like

  2. “S.T.A.R.S.!!” That roar always terrified me when I heard him coming on Resident Evil 3.

    Good luck with your NES Classic search. I have a feeling Nintendo will increase their stock soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

