[Editorial] Guess what’s next on I ❤ Old Games! – 27/11/16


Hello mates!

This is the first post of the new (I hope long-lasting) column, shamelessly stolen by The Shameful Narcisist (I hope I don’t have to owe you anything for the copyright and in case I have to, don’t sue me! 🙂 ) that will be a remind for you and for me (the years pass even for me and I’m becoming old and gray 🙂 ) being a shortlist of what I’m doing week by week: what games I’m playing, what games I’ve completed, what I’m reading and my plans.

With this I can keep everything updated and maybe get some good idea from you. There’s always so much to learn from all of you!

GAMES

  • Europa Universalis IV
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 20% completed
    Being around 1520 A.D. and with some asses still to kick this experience with a modern game (or better a non-old game) is becoming astonishing. As you can read in my last playthrough post things are going great and the next step will be UNIFY ITALY. I hope I will succeed.
  • Catacomb Abyss
    Begun: November 18th, 2016
    Status: ???% completed
    My thirst of old FPS led me to install Catacomb, a forerunner in the FPS world. However I realized only when I started playing that the game wasn’t Catacomb 3-D, the one I was looking for, but the first episode of the subsequent trilogy, Catacomb Abyss. But I’m flexible, so I started playing and I’m wandering down the catacomb even if I have no idea at what point of the game I’m now…
  • Catacomb 3-D
    Begun: November 17th, 2016
    Status: ???% completed
    THIS was the game I was looking for. After a night spent playing Catacomb Abyss, the morning after I finally found the original Catcomb 3-D (that turned 25 this month) and despite I was already playing the sequel, I decided to start even this one. Now, beyond the fact that I don’t know how long is the game, my head is a mess because I confuse the two games…
  • Carmageddon
    Begun: November 23rd, 2016
    Status: 13% completed
    Willing for some good old demolition race and car combat, I decided to remove the dust from Carmageddon and start again to smash my car aginst the walls. Andg against  everything/everybody that steps in front of me. Last race was “The Pit” with which I gained 5 position in the ranking, so I’m now in P87.

BOOKS

  • Retro Gamer Issue #158
    Begun: November 22nd, 2016
    Status: 54% completed
    Okay, shame on me. Super shame on me. I’m really really behind in reading my loved magazine. In a few days I will receive Issue #162 and I’m still stuck to #158. I suck, I know. The main problem with reading for me is that I can do it only before going to bed. And unfortunately reading, especially after a whole day of work, send me to sleep. This issue is focued on Sonic 25th anniversary and a brief history of furry video games mascots. I’ve just read a great piece about Amiga 500 and its forgotten games. Man if only I were born in the late 60’s……
  • The Ultimate History of Video Games
    Begun: November 16th, 2016
    Status: 2% completed
    This will be a hard work for me. I’ve just a little spare time to dedicate to this wonderful book and I think I will complete it when I’ll become grandfather. At the moment I’m still blocked on the very first part about the pinball machines. So I think the best is still to come!

PLANS

I have to find a ZX Spectrum. So bad. It’s a few days I’m thinking about it and I hope I could find a good deal on a good one with some games and softwares. I want to go back to my early early childhood!

That’s all folks!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. No copyright required hehe. I got the gaming state idea from LightningEllen of Conquering the Gaming Backlog! Really the “states” posts are all about making myself more accountable by putting it someplace where others can see, so I’m more bound to get it done. It’s caused solidarity with others behind in their gaming, reading and writing, plus tons of encouragement, which I’m happy to share 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Phew, good to hear that nobody will sue me 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

