[Happy Birthday!] Catacomb 3-D


catacomb-3-d

Hello old game lovers,

As some of you may know from my Twitter account, in these days I’m deeply concentrated on Catacomb 3-D, one of the earliest if not the first 3D FPS, released 25 years ago in November. I didn’t find the precise date but the odd thing is that after I found it and started to play it I discovered this game turns 25 this month. Maybe some monster down in the catacombs has the power to read my mind and to influence my decisions? Maybe…

Anyway, let’s celebrate this small milestone in video gaming and especially in the FPS history. Catacomb 3-D used a prototype of the famous Wolfenstein 3D graphic engine and in fact the similarities between the two titles are clear, even because the mind behind the two games is the same: John Carmack. a name that most of you will know very very well, since it’s part of video gaming history along with his company id Software, a reference point (or better, a Northern Star) in the early 90’s for shooting games. If you like FPS and old games it’s 99% probable that you played an id game.

So again all hail to Catacomb 3-D and happy birthday! In the next days I will keep you posted with a good review and with my progress.

See ya!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. jps says:

    Ha, the protagonist guy on the cover looks a little like Archer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eager to hear more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      There will be more! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

