[Happy Birthday!] Tomb Raider


tomb-raider

Hello old game lovers,

It seems yesterday that we first saw out loved big-pointy-boobed heroine Lara Croft hunting for treasures  and jumping against rocks and canyons but today, November 14th, is the 20th anniversary of the release of Tomb Raider that in 1996 saw the light in North America for Sega Saturn, PlayStation and PC, even if it had become a classic especially among the PlayStation-ers.

So what are your thoughts about it?

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. GamingPicks says:

    I think I played it in 1997, PC version. I had a great time with it and the moment T-Rex appears is one of the best moments ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember owning a copy of Tomb Raider on the Sega Saturn. I played a demo version of the game with a friend and decided to buy the whole game. I always enjoyed the level designs and climbing through the different ruins. I also remember many levels had a cosy feel due to the use of warm colours and fairly bright lighting. A particular highlight is the animated sequence after completing the Atlantis level. The level was highly difficult and the animation, which I felt were the best graphics in the game, explained the backstory (which was particularly meaningful considering there were some suggestion to events from the past in earlier animations). I also liked the character of Pierre, he appears sporadically during the game and then mysteriously disappears.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I remember Pierre too! I’ve always guessed where he came from and where did he go…

      Like

      1. It was actually quite interesting that there was this character who appeared and disappeared seemingly at random. All the other human characters functioned as bosses and only encountered Lara during a fight. What made him disappear anyway? I could never work out if he ran of when the player got near him or if he was hit a certain number of times

        Liked by 1 person

    2. itsonlyleggy says:

      I was the same! There was a room in the demo where you can open and close a door using a lever….. I used to lure a bear in there and lock him in haha. Will never forget St. Francis’ Folly, or the indignity of not being able to do Lara’s handstand in the Saturn version!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did not realise there was a handstand manoeuvre missing from the Saturn version. I remember there was a swan dive that the instruction manual never described. Congratulations on trapping the bear. I knew someone who did something similar with the butler in the pantry in the later games.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mr. Panda says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Tomb Raider! I didn’t own a PS1 growing up, so I unfortunately have never really given this series a chance. I played a little of one of the sequels, but I would like to give the first one a try sometime. Thanks as always for keeping us informed of these gaming birthdays!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. stevenger says:

    20 years! I came later to the PlayStation so my “first” Tomb Raider was the Official PlayStation Mag’s demo of TR2. That was enough to convince me to pick up the first one on Platinum though and it’s a platforming delight, Lara’s kinda-missing ponytail or no!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pooky says:

    I remember that my uncle was way into this game when it came out. I started playing it to see what the fuss was about and found it really difficult! (I have killed Lara so many times…) Despite this, it’s a great game! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I started my experience with TR watching y uncle play too! However I didn’t play it from the beginning to the end but just sometimes starting from one of my uncle save state…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

