[Coming of Age] Half-Life


half-life

Hello old game lovers,

Today,  November 8th, is the 18 anniversary of one of the best FPS ever made, the immortal Half-Life. The saga set in the Black Mesa, starring Gordon Freeman (no, not Morgan Freeman nor Jennifer Freeman) started in 1998 and in my honest opinion, Half-Life is part of my personal shooting games podium along with Duke Nukem 3D and Deus Ex (yes, even more than Doom 2, or maybe not, I don’t know, anyway I like them all!). It’s not by chance that it received helluva “Game of the Year” awards and it has been named as “Best PC Game Ever” by PC Gamer three times.

So go to tell Half-Life today he can vote, maybe he’s still in time to go to his polling station for the US election!

Any story about your relation with this Valve masdperpiece will be more than welcome.

See ya!

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Mr. Wapojif says:

    I think the original has aged pretty badly, although the Black Mesa fan update is good. For me, Half-Life 2 is the one. Along with the Metroid Prime Trilogy, flat out easily the best FPSs in what is becoming a tired and overused genre. In my opinion, anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      For me the first chapter will always be the best. I tried the second just a couple of times since I didn’t have it and I have to admit is for sure a great game with a lot of improvements than the predecessor. But the hearts still beats for #1…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really need to play Half Life. I got stuck in the Blast Chamber with that thing that attacks you if you make noise. 13 year old me wasn’t patient enough to slow walk past it

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      I have a bit confused memories of all the aspects of the game, since I remember I played Half-Life and Deus Ex together. At the moment I don’t remember the point you mentioned. Maybe a picture could help? 😉

      Like

      1. benez256 says:

        Uuuuuuh, now I remember! Gosh I spent some time there too! But fortunately in a couple of hours (…) I got it…

        Like

  3. pine717 says:

    I also really cherish this game. It is my top shooter with Deus Ex and Starsiege: Tribes. I remember I got this game as a gift for Christmas 1999, and the week before New Year’s I remember thinking “I hope the Y2K bug doesn’t end civilization, because then I wouldn’t be able to finish this game.”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      As you can read, Deus Ex is in my top three too, maybe even because it mixes a bit (a very small bit actually) of RPG, a genre that ruled the market in late nineties/early noughties. I’ve never tried Starsiege (shame on me!) but I will have to. Soon…In the last weeks I’ve been very busy and deeply involved with EU4, but FPS it’s a genre I always loved and I have to dust off.

      Like

    2. benez256 says:

      BTW we’ve been lucky that millenium bug hasn’t hit our PCs! 🙂

      Like

  4. This game is on my wishlist now! Thanks for reminding me I missed out on playing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      You definitely have to!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Did you like Xen? I never understood all the hate for it and man was I pissed when I got Black Mesa when it first came out and got to the portal to Xen and suddenly the credits came up.

    Like

    1. benez256 says:

      Unfortunately I’ve never tried it. But this weekend could be the right one to do so…

      Like

Leave a Reply

