[Happy Birthday!] Alex Kidd in Miracle World


alex-kidd-in-miracle-world

Hello there!

Today it’s a great day in history of video gaming and particularly for SEGA, since today, 30 years ago, on Novembre 1st, 1986 was released Alex Kidd in Miracle World for Sega Master System, the first title of the saga of Alex Kidd that, in the intentions of SEGA should have become the firm’s mascotte against Nintendo’s Mario. The things changed a lot in a couple of years when Sonic became in the collective imagination thye real SEGA emblem.

However Alex, after a few years of decline rose again from the ashes and today is rewarded as one of the most populare SEGA “pure” platform games of all time, being Sonic a bit more “arcade”.

So c’mon Alex, blow out your thirty candles!

Other chapters of the saga:

  • Alex Kidd: The Lost Stars
  • Alex Kidd BMX Trial
  • Alex Kidd in High-Tech World
  • Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
  • Alex Kidd in Shinobi World

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Never liked Alex Kidd, he slippy controls always annoyed me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      I played the first time in my adultlthood since I discovered one of my friends was a SEGA boy while I’ve always been a Nintendo boy. So he told about this and i decided to try. Obviously it would have been better to enjoy it in my youth but I have to say that even if the game sometimes lacks a bit the background music is so catchy that I can’t stop playing!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. allendemir says:

      I couldn’t get into them either, the one hit deaths combined with horrible attack range kept me from enjoying it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mr. Panda says:

    Happy Birthday Alex Kidd! Love the name! I haven’t actually played an Alex Kidd game, but I recognize him as a part of Sega’s beginnings.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hungrygoriya says:

    Alex Kidd is super difficult but fun once you get the hang of the controls. I also adore the boss battles in this game. They’re so unique1 Also, I can’t agree with you more about the music! Have you tried any of the other Alex Kidd games?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      No 😦 but when I will have some spare time I’ll do! Maybe I can start finding a good deal for a Sega Master System… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. GamingPicks says:

    30 Years already… It was in my Master System’s memory (sometimes it booted up by mistake if you didn’t put cartridge correctly xD). I remeber enjoying it a lot, great times. Thanks for the post!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. John says:

    I’ve been journeying through the Master System library and I somehow haven’t come across this game in the wild. May be time to rely on eBay to source a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      You will surely find one…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

