[RetroPicks] Old treasures: Game & Watch Mario’s Cement Factory


During my hunt for big treasures I found an almost forgotten mini handheld console I had when I was very young.

So I just removed everything was thrown on it, I cleaned it and voila my new old Game & Watch!

game-watch-marios-cement-factory-redux

I don’t know is some of you had this or another G&W. They were small consoles with only one or two games inside, produced by Nintendo from 1980 and 1991. Some of them are very common but for some of them you have to sign a check with a couple more zeros since they’re quite rare. The idea for the Game & Watch series wend from Gunpei Yokoi. This name could sound like one of the dozens of japanese ones that worked for the big B in the golden age but the invented two of the most important things in the videogames history: the directional cross and the Game Boy. ‘Nuff said.

He was so ahed of his time that some of the G&W produced were actually ideantical to another Nintendo console, the DS. Have a look to this and to this and tell me the difference…Before the production was discontinued were produced 60 different Game & Watch: only a collection of this has an immense value, for sure way above 10.000 $.

By the way I remember I spent a lot of time playing to this particular Game & Watch, Mario’s Cement Factory. The goal of the games was simple: fill the truck with cement loads without filling too much the hoppers above that can carry at maximum three loads. The key is being fast and have the right timing since the game speeds up a bit every time you load the truck.

Sincerely I don’t remember which was my top score and when I played it again a couple of days ago my top was 141. A score that sucks. I remember this was one of the few games my mom loved to play and everyday was a challenge between us to set the high score.

I checked online and for this version of Mario’s Cement Factory (quick note, there are three versions: mine, the tasble top arcade-like and the pocket) in good shape and working the prices goes from 40$ up until more that 200$ for a boxed version.

So now having found this small diamond my evergrowing collection has one more item, another time a Nintendo one. It looks like the japanese manufacturer could be the leitmotive of my collection.

Stay retro!

Follow I ❤ Old Games! on Facebook!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I think I still have my Cement Factory Game and Watch somewhere at home. I’ll have to dig it out one day! I hope it didn’t get thrown out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I hope too! I see online that nowadays Game & Watch in good conditions are sold sometimes at more that 100$! Mario Cement by the way is one of the most common but it’s great to know that one of my followers have one too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As it happens, I don’t actually know where it came from. I remember playing it but I think my dad must have bought it at some point. Common or otherwise, it’s a nice piece of nostalgia :-).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. penguin1721 says:

    WOW i had no clue there was such a thing that nintendo came out with, I really appreciate you giving this kind of information out and showing people the old classics that everyone should love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks! There are a lot of Game&Watch around. It will be great to collect them all but it will be a proper job!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never heard of these! I wonder if any were released in the states. I love finding old treasures like that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, the’ve been released worldwide so I think you can find them in some market…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. allendemir says:

    I played some old Tiger handhelds as a kid, but never tried the Game & Watch stuff. Always wanted to, but I never saw them anywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      There arr some good deals sometimes on eBay for the G&W. I had a Tiger handheld too when I was a child! It was Flash! I have fond memories if it…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

