[Happy Birthday!] Sid Meier’s Civilization


civilization

Hello old games lovers!

Le’t say “Happy Birthday” to one of the greatest games of all time, Sid Meier’s Civilizations has been released today 25 years ago, September 7th, 1991.

I spent days on this little big jewel (and on the sequels, especially Civilization III), maybe the best 4X game (eXplore, eXpand, eXploit, and eXterminate), nominated one of the most important video games in computer history so I would like to share with all of you my great appreciation for this title.

I ask you to share your thoughts aboit it too!

Follow I ❤ Old Games! on Facebook!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I have a lot of respect for Civilization, and for Civilization IV which I recently played. Or tried to play – as much as I appreciate these games, I was never any good at them!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. benez256 says:

      Me too! I sucked a bit on Civ and Civ III but lately I became more skilled…😉

      Like

  2. Mr. Panda says:

    I never played this, but I used to have roommates who loved this series, and I respect it. Happy Birthday Sid Meier’s Civilization!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never played any of the Civilization series; however, i do have to say that Civilization IV introduced me to one of the best songs I’ve ever heard “Baba Yetu,” which led me to more fantastic works by Christopher Tin so even games I don’t play/watch have influenced my life. Oh, and “Baba Yetu” was the first (and I believe so far only) game to win a Grammy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Wow, didn’t know this!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m happy that a song written for a video game won such a prestigious award, but I’m also annoyed that it took that long. There are so many songs from games like Final Fantasy and Zelda that deserve such recognition, too!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. hungrygoriya says:

    I love these games, but I’m just awful at them. I have a great appreciation for their complexity and interesting gameplay. I’m really glad you enjoyed playing them again. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I play sometimes Civilization but I’m not a master of it. Unfortunately…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have sunk so many hours into Civ, CIv 2 and Alpha Centauri. Great series.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. itsonlyleggy says:

    I have… never played a Civ game! I think it was because it was always best on PC, and apart from a few exceptions, I’m a console gamer. It’s on the the list of “games I really should play but can never find the time to.” Still, I can appreciate what it’s done for strategy games.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, you should definitely try it…

      Like

  7. steviegill (cakeisaliegaming) says:

    The first is the one I ploughed the most time into (on my trusty Amiga) and as such my favourite. I keep meaning to return to the series, but later games never really captured my heart and imagination in the same way the first did. I guess because it felt so fresh and original at the time, although some of the ideas/concept had already been explored to a lesser degree in Mega Lo Mania (a hugely overlooked and under rated game from that era). Nothing like bombing a bunch of spear-welding savages into extinction 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes the first chapter was new and fresh and even for me is difficult to be captured by the last games. I never played Mega Lo Mania so I will have a look!

      Like

Leave a Reply

