[Coming of Age] Commandos: Behind Enemy Lines


Commandos - Behind Enemy Lines

Hello old games lovers!

Today will turn 18 Commandos: Behind Enemy Lines, release exactly today, July 31st, 1998!

Any experience you want to share about his game in which we find one of the most upsetting character of all time (and he’s not even a villain): guess who he is…

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Cassidy says:

    Le ore passate a giocarsi, a questa versione, alle espansioni, al seguito… Un pezzo di cuore! 😉 Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Mi ricordo nottate estive con gli amici a giocarci fino alle 5 del mattino…

      Like

  2. I only ever played the demo, but you could tell even from that how much variety the game would have. I enjoyed it, but being quite young meant I didn’t have the money for many games at the time, and this one slipped by. Maybe I’ll get the Steam version someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      It’s quite difficult and is a great game, you have to try it definitely!

      Like

  3. Oh yes, I can remember playing it in summer of 1998 together with my Dad. It was a great experience: we played Commandos independently and then exchanged opinions and advice, and I even asked him to show me how to pass one of the early missions which was too difficult for me.

    One hot summer day, I even tricked him into reenacting one of the game’s characters. There was a heavy metal barrel full of coal tar standing in the backyard – we used it cover the roof of our countryside house. So I told him: “I wonder if you can lift it and make ten steps, just like the Green Beret?”. And guess what, he did it! I can still remember that smug grin of satisfaction on his face. Well, this is why you need to be careful with teenagers and video games, sometimes they get really stupid ideas from playing.

    Wonderful memories. Thank’s for writing this post and bringing them back, B.!

    P.S. As for the most upsetting character of all time, wasn’t it the Sniper, an epitome of Evil Brit? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Wow, I see you have great memories about Commandos too! And yes, the most upsetting character was the Sniper, always with that behavior like it was superior. Stupid son of a b…
      P.S. B was my nickname during the college days 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

  4. I remember this game! Let me correct that… I remember being horrible at this game! That didn’t stop me from loving it and the sequels though. I was too young to really get into it too much but I might end up checking it out again now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks for the reply! This game was the leitmotiv of one of the summer spent with my friends. A whole week when we were all 17. And everynight ALL NIGHT LONG on Commandos and other games. I will always remember that germas telling something like “istaquilemand”. Great memories!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. steviegill (cakeisaliegaming) says:

    This one of the first games I bought for PC (prior to that I had an Amiga and PS1). It was hard and I was obsessed with trying to kill every Nazi and hide their bodies out of sight. I used to love the OTT voice acting and dodgy accents. HALT!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, it was (it is) a great game, hard enough and very “tactical”. I played it for, I think, a billion hours…

      Like

Leave a Reply

