[Editorial] Waiting for No Man’s Sky


No Man's Sly

Do you think this could be a milestone in gaming or it will be just much ado about nothing?

No, you havent’ misread, I’m waiting for No Man’s Sky to be released.

It could be a bit strange to hear it from a retro games maniac who stopped his gaming experience with the beginning of the third millennium losing 15 years of video games (for sure even good video games), but since the first time I read about No Man’s Sky in an italian online newspaper more than one year ago my curiosity took over my everlasting suspiciousness about “modern” games (geez, I’m talking like an old fart…) and by then I’m waiting day by day to try it. The possibility to explore a virtually infinite universe and to wander alone among the planets it’s something teasing.

Unfortunately I think my laptop won’t cooperate so much since it’s 3 years old and it was an old base model back then, so I think I’m gonna wait until I will get a new powerful PC (or maybe wait until somebody give me one…). Even because I don’t think my PS2 could do the work of a PS4…

I’m very impressed from the trailers about exploration and battles, even if I’m not a fan of space exploration games or stuff like that, but I think this could be the game that will make me change my mind.

I look forward to your points of view about it so you could help me to have a clear idea.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m reserving opinion on this until the reviews come around. It certainly looks interesting, and I love the art style, I’m just not sure what the actual ‘game’ is. The marketing for the game hasn’t made a huge amount clear about that. I see it as Elite Dangerous with less direction (if that were possible!) but I could be wrong.

    I should also note that I don’t have nearly as much time to play games as I used to, so this might not be a good option for me! I’m going to watch it with great interest though!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. benez256 says:

      Maybe I’m so curious just because of the unclear marketing, I don’t know. I won’t have time to play it too (and neither the required hardware) so in case it will be the greatest game of all time it will be a problem for me…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’ll be fun to see the release at any rate. Having a universe of that size is quite an achievement, especially if they can keep it varied throughout the playtime.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ArcanicVoid says:

        From the reviews in Steam, a lot of people are unsatisfied. It certainly is new and will have bugs of all sorts, but the randomly generated worlds and environments isn’t enough for some people.
        Also, there’s apparently a lack of variety on the type of planets, stars, and other qualities that a universe would have, but I imagine more of that will be released later.
        No Man’s Sky is brand new and probably not the full content of what it should be, as games lately have been more “Early Access” and less get the full game when you buy it.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. I agree. I’m struggling to see what this game does that makes it so special, or what it’s even about.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. benez256 says:

        for my nature, having a game that allows you to explore an entire universe it’s one of the best things. Even if you won’t fnd anybody else. After all my experience as a gamer ended up before online multiplayer became mainstream so I think I won’t regreat the opportunity to wander around alone…

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I wish I could share your excitement, however, I can’t help but feel like this game shares too many similarities to several other games that have attempted to build a sense of adventure out of procedurally generated content. One I’m thinking of in particular is the game Starbound, which, despite all of it’s vastness of content, somehow still feels somewhat empty and lifeless.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. benez256 says:

        Never tried Starbound, i should have a look to have an idea of the kind of game…

        Like

      4. ArcanicVoid says:

        Yes, with so much space and vastness of material, the problem is a lack of making it interesting for 100+ hours of gameplay and with a result of some sort of sense of progress.

        Liked by 2 people

      5. The idea seems to be survival game in space with billions of planets. Land, scavenge, survive, take off then go to another planet. All those plants are appealing but I do have to wonder how much variety there actually is.

        Liked by 2 people

      6. That’s where the brunt of my skepticism lies as well. Like I mentioned in another comment earlier, “procedurally generated” is not synonymous with “endless variety”. In fact, I think all it does is stretch out the game’s existing content in an attempt to make a game seem like it has more going on than it truly does.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I’m sure totalbiscuit mentioned something along those lines in a recent video and I couldn’t agree more. A green version of the same enemy in a slightly differently shaped room is hardly a new experience. Give me Inside over Necropolis any time!

        Liked by 1 person

      8. ArcanicVoid says:

        Pretty much; copy-paste, copy-paste, “now our game is massive”

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Mr. Wapojif says:

    The PS4 has a serious problem with the amount of violent first and third person shooters it has, so this looks like a pleasant reprieve. I don’t have a PS4, but this game does look fun! It looks a bit like Zelda: Breath of the Wild interestingly enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. benez256 says:

    I never played Zelda: Breath of the Wild but this game is so alluring……

    Like

  4. Will Rogers says:

    I remember when I was younger I used to love heading down to my local game shop and preordering games, then the excitement would build as I watched previews and things online until the day of release eventually arrived. I haven’t preordered anything for years now, with the exception of No Man’s Sky. I’m managing my expectations, but this is the first game that’s got me excited for the direction the industry’s heading in for quite a while now.

    I’m very intrigued to see what happens when people start bumping into each other nearer the centre of the universe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Good, so let me know how it will be!

      Like

  5. Rob Jon Andrews says:

    I’ll buy it and try to avoid any reviews. I want to experience this myself, good or bad. I think the key will be not just on day one content, but how it is supported going forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      This should be a game that you could love in the long term, after days and days traveling in the deep space…

      Like

      1. Rob Jon Andrews says:

        I just love the idea that after months of playing you might one day come to a planet that is so random and nuts, and your the ONLY person to have ever seen it. That’s just crazy!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        That’s what I love about it!

        Like

      3. Rob Jon Andrews says:

        Who knows, I might pass by your own planet on my ship and never even know you were down there. But the odds of that would be so vast I’m not sure this thread has enough zeros! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. pick3dlast says:

    Reblogged this on (no longer) pick3d last and commented:
    I can’t wait to try this one too. Still not convinced it’s going to be great, but it looks like it has potential.

    Like

  7. Having played at least a dozen games that boast about procedurally generated content, I can’t say that it’s a good thing in and of itself. I caution those of you who believe that “procedurally generated” means a completely different experience for every planet to cull your expectations; all generated objects will simply be a different color and combination of a limited pool of existing assets. I find it highly unlikely that *every* planet will look completely different from any other, and it’s far more likely that after the few half dozen, you’ll have seen all there is for the game to offer in terms of world variety.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m personally planning on reviewing this game. My rabid hype has long since died in the past couple years. Sony has seen to that. I believe that there’s an almost legendary reputation surrounding the game now that may end up biting Hello Games in the rear like what happened with Destiny (saw this post that made that connection too: https://www.inverse.com/article/19147-no-man-s-sky-destiny-hype-video-game).

    Despite my reservations, I’m excited. I can’t wait to get my hands on the game but I’m trying to keep my expectations grounded.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Glad you’re coming back and getting excited

    Liked by 1 person

  10. mazbott says:

    Quite enjoyed this Article Benez! I actually went to take a look at the progress on No man’s Sky on IGN because of this. My impression of it was good and bad though. I don’t see anything particularly unique (using the strictest definition of unique) other than the sheer scale of the game. Else it looks beautiful and imagining the potential of what can come in the future… makes it a definite consideration

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      I’m a son of 80’s and 90’s single player games and in everyone I played I loved the possibility to spend hours and hours on them just doing…nothing at all. For this reason I think I could love No Man’s Sky. The main problem now is to buy the game and the PS4…This game will be an expensive pastime for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

