[Review] Dr. Mario


Dr. Mario

REVIEW # 00000000 00010010

Dr. Mario is coming, and he’s got the cure!

So it seems that our hero Mario worked hard during his days as a student, hard enough to graduate in medicine. Dr. Mario is one of the games I owned for my NES and I think the only game my mother  played better than me. After his adventures in the Mushrooms Kingdom, Mario hung up the wrench and the plunger and dressed the part of the doctor he never had the chance to be (too busy to try to save a trilion times the stupid Princess Peach) and tries to avoid the humanity to fall prey to a viruses trio.

Only Mario has the vaccine: pills of the lenght of an arm that he throws with surgical precision and eagle-eye skill into a galss flask where the viruses are growing and growing.

P. S. As promised, I would like to thank The Shameful Narcissist who (following the instructions of my previous post) was the fastest to reply to my too easy contest. I’d like to mention also Lightningnightnova and Nick the Gent for their try to be the firsts to comment and obviously all my readers. Thanks guys!

My heart says…

80%

I’ve always thought my mom brought this game especially for her amusement; she always liked games like this or Tetris. But even if Dr. Mario is not in my top-3 I have to admit is an important piece of gaming history and one of the first (if not the first) title in which Mario is not crushing Goombas, kicking Koopa Troopa or hitting bricks just to collect money and points.

The only question now is: if Mario has a PhD why works as a plumber???

Splash screen

90%

Accompanied by a silly simphony (sorry, I didn’t mean to break any copyright…) the main menu is essential and very easy to handle and we can only choose between a 1-player or 2-players game.

Dr. Mario 2

In the the second menu that appears after selecting the game mode, we can choose some additional options, like the starting level (1 to 20), the game speed and most important: THE GAME MUSIC!

Dr. Mario 3

Graphics

100%

Nintendo has always been a key figure concerning the graphics. So put together their limitless skill in giving appeal to their products, the power of a console such as NES and the shiny palette that can be seen in during the game and you can understand the reason of this 10/10.

Dr. Mario 4

Narrative

90%

There’s nothing to say about the plot. Even if I’m curious to know where Mario got his PhD…

Gameplay

90%

Dr. Mario is a very simple game. The goal is to defeat all the viruses in the flask: to do so Mario has 6 different vitamin pills, each one divided in two parts that can be colored in different ways. Every color (blue, red and yellow) kills the corresponding virus.

This seems very easy but when the speed starts to increase it’s not a joke to impile three different capsules to kill the bad guys, even because there is always the possibility (and this is the hard part of the game) that a piece of a pill lands onto the wrong virus, making impossible to kill it, unless you don’t remove it using other pills that can cause the same problems. So, as it is for Tetris, you have to plan a bit of strategy before throwing vitamins randomly.

In Dr. Mario there are 21 starting levels, but you can go up to higher levels until the flask is so full that the game doesn’t change anymore: same amount of viruses and same speed, you will only race for the highest score.

The game offers also the 2-players game option with split screen.

Dr. Mario 5

Sound

100%

There’s no need for words. Just relax and play the two videos below. Chill and Fever are two of the most perfect musics ever made not only for an 8-bit console game, but for any other kind of game in all history. Beside Chill and Fever, all of you guys who played Dr. Mario will surely remember also the opening theme. And of you don’t remember it is just because the two game musics are too famous that obscured every other music played in the game.

Longevity

100%

This game is made to have a great replayability, since it’s almost impossible to play two times the same game. Obviously as in Tetris, which is the model for Dr. Mario, is possible you can gat bored after hours and hours to throw vitamins, but the problem won’t definitely be the longevity.

Final score 89/100

85%


Year: 1990

Developer: Nintendo

Publisher: Nintendo

Genre: Puzzle

Game Mode: Single Player, Double Player

Original Platform: NES

From the same developers/publishers:

Inspired to:

  • Mario Bros (1983)

If you liked it you can also try:

Follow I ❤ Old Games on Facebook!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. C. T. Murphy says:

    I always preferred Yoshi, but Dr. Mario is good too! Nice review,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hungrygoriya says:

    I have loved this game my entire life, but had a nasty cousin who used to destroy me when we’d play together. Nonetheless, I agree with everything you’ve said here (especially about the music!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks for the reply! It’s a lot of time I don’t play Dr. Mario against someone. I have to start again…

      Like

  3. pine717 says:

    These English posts are quite a bit better than having to use Google Translate. Thanks for your effort.

    I think I’ve always liked Dr. Mario a little bit more than Tetris due to the presence of the virus enemies, which gave it a bit more of a goal than just reaching for the high score. I’ve had a longstanding feud with a childhood friend as to whether Chill or Fever is better. Both are great, but I’ve think I’ve always preferred Chill.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks for the compliments, I hope my english is not too bad! Choosing between Chill and Fever is like choosing left or right, mountains or sea, there’s no correct answer. I’ve always prefered Fever but I admit sometimes I turned to Chill when I want to relax and enjoy the game with no rush.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mr. Panda says:

    Great review, and keep up the excellent English posts! I’ve always enjoyed the Dr. Mario series with Dr. Mario 64 being my favorite. I’m glad you recognize how catchy Fever and Chill are. Fever is a favorite of mine, and I’m glad they’ve inserted into some Smash Bros. titles!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks for the reply! In the review I focused basically on Chill and Fever but actually all the sounds in backgroung are great. I mean even when you choose the level and the speed you can hear a wonderful music!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mr. Panda says:

        Ahh yes, it’s all coming back to me now. That nice quirky music. I love it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. benez256 says:

        Somethimes I find myself singing with no reason, I mean, I don’t even realize I’m whistling or something and when I stop for a moment to think about what I’m singing a lot of times ends up that is Dr. Mario music… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. allendemir says:

    I’m not sure if I was any good at this game, but it was probably my favorite puzzle game regardless. A perfect game to pick up on your Game Boy during a trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Thanks for the comment and lucky you if you had it on GameBoy! I had it only on NES so everytime I had to stay in front of the TV for hours…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. allendemir says:

        Wow, I didn’t know they even made it for NES.

        Like

  6. allendemir says:

    Whoops, I thought you meant Kirby’s Pinball. I like the portability of Dr. Mario on Game Boy, but I also miss the color.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. benez256 says:

      Yes, with the colors everything is veeeeery different…

      Like

Leave a Reply

